Oh, my aching back…….

October 6, 2008 at 9:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 11 Comments

I admit it was immature and completely embarrassing, but I was crying over my floors on Thursday. The flooring guy even said in all of his years putting down floors, he has never had them reject polyurethane like mine did. It just kept sucking it in…sucking it in…coat after coat. The solution? Start over from scratch.  That meant I had to cancel my furniture delivery to the house and have everything moved into a storage unit, and then I packed up my child and moved in with my best friend for the weekend.

Within 15 minutes of moving in with Amy, I fell down the stairs. I was curled up in the fetal position on her floor while my daughter was giving me binky kisses and my best friend was laughing hysterically. I’m not mad at her for that. I would’ve laughed hysterically, too. What else can you do when someone falls like that? So after a couple of minutes, I got up the nerve to move and assess the damage. I jarred myself pretty badly. My right wrist hurt, but my lower back was feeling the most damage. I ate a handful of Advil and hoped for the best. And now it’s Monday morning and my wrist feels fine. I have a small bruise on the small of my back and my hips feel “off.” I’m also really achy through my shoulder blades, like I’ve been lifting weights and my muscles are sore. (Like I know what THAT feels like…) 

After the laughter died, Amy got on the phone with her insurance agent hubby who’s first question, obviously, was “Is she going to sue us??” His concern brought a tear to my eye….and more laughter to Amy. “My best friend would NEVER sue me!” Uh…….did I mention my hips feel a little off? Kidding! I kid.

Anyway, I am now back in my home and my floors are GORGEOUS. And now I can have my furniture moved back in and start calling my house a home again.  With all the financial turmoil going on, I sure picked a great time to bleed money, didn’t I? 2008 has been the year of ridiculous spending. 2009 will be the year of living frugally. And I know me! When I put my mind to it, I can be a cheap little B.

XO
Kellie

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL….Kellie I’m glad you are ok after your tumble down the stairs. It’s one of those funny, but not funny things so I’m laughing but not laughing. Get it? LOL!

    Congrats on getting things back to normal in your house. Been there done that and I totally understand the tears.

  2. Glad to hear all is done and well. Want to come do my house now? 🙂

  3. We wanna see pics! Glad you didn’t hurt yourself too badly!

  4. Kellie,

    Two years ago I took a graceful fall down my own wood stairs while carrying my six month old english bulldog puppy, who had not yet mastered the going down the stairs thing. Like you, my feet just went out from under me for a reason still unknown to me and I fell from the third step to the bottom to the edge of the last step, directly on my lower back/tailbone. Ouch! My back aches as I type this!

    Miraculously, I managed to hold onto the puppy while my other two dogs, who were waiting for me at the bottom of the stairs, came over and stared at me to express their concern. I remained motionless for about thirty seconds before the hysterical crying hit me. I released the puppy from my arms and he scampered off to the family room like I was a crazy lady who couldn’t walk down stairs – clearly. I wasn’t sure if any part of me was bleeding or broken so I crawled, shrieking in pain, with my dogs following me, to the kitchen and pulled myself up to a counter to use the phone and call my husband. My call reached him as he was waiting for a plane at JFK airport bound for Prague. My sobbing dissapated enough for me to explain what happened and his immediate concern was whether the puppy was okay – of course. 🙂

    I bruised immediately and deeply and, thankfully, did not break anything. My entire body was also sore from tensing up to hold on to the puppy when I fell and bracing for the impact. It took several months, but my back felt mostly back to normal. I still have some unsual aches every now and then that have to be a result of this accident.

    My thoughts are completely with you and I hope you feel better soon! I felt totally clumsy and stupid when I did this, especially when I had to explain to my boss that I couldn’t come in to work because I thought I might have broken my bottom. Ugh. God Bless Ya Girl!

  5. Can’t wait to see the pics! And im glad your ok from the fall.

  6. Hey Kellie ~ I totally identified w/you when i heard about you falling down the last coupla stairs. But blessed you are becuz what “this” crazee Mom did a little over a year ago, I fell at the roller rink & did break my left wrist in 2 places….both of them being where the wrist connects to the hand….NICE….it was THE most painful thing I’ve ever been thru in my life!!! And I wasn’t showing off or even going fast. Dang It! We had my daughter’s 9th birthday party there & I was just trying to gain a little speed when both of my skates became parallel w/each other & before I could blink, i fell backwards w/both arms automatically going out to break my fall & BREAK they did….or at least one of them did….Sheesh!!! Have gotten so many laughs from people but I was a good skater before that crazee day!!!
    Glad to hear you are feeling better!!! 🙂

  7. Bless your heart Kellie. I’m so glad you are going to be ok!! Let me tell you my story just to give you a laugh! 2 wks. ago I fell up my stairs!! Yea, I was carrying a bowl of cereal to eat upstairs and lost my footing and fell flat on my face. Milk went everywhere and so did a few choice words!! Needless to say that Sunday at church I was not able to visit that alter!! Ha! That’s ok God hears us anywhere! You take care of yourself and be careful and I’ll do the same! I love ya girlie, Judie

  8. I did the same thing walking down our metal spiral staircase. I had on my stocking socks and was carrying a pair of scissors, a hot iron, and a few other things. My left foot bent in and slipped and down I went 4 steps. My foot was bruised for a while and my back was ok. Glad you are not too hurt!!

  9. Well, maybe you can go to the chiro to get an adjustment? Maybe that would help put everything back?

    Would love to see pics of the new and improved crib. Bet it looks fabulous!

  10. I’ve had my embarassing moments of crying over floors and/or falling down stairs, too. I am thankful you shared yours – makes me feel more normal!

  11. Girl, I was on a chair cleaning the top of my fridge and the chair went out from under me…I laughed all the way down to the ground because it was so ridiculous! of course I stopped laughing when I hit, because it knocked the wind out of me, but it was still stupidly funny!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

