Back to work tomorrow!

August 25, 2008 at 2:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

I think my cough is finally winding down. I’ve been coughing the past two nights, but not badly enough where I had to get up to stop myself from choking. The puking has stopped, too. I’d like to thank all those who offered suggestions, sympathy and Xanax (you know who you are).  I was afraid I had broken a rib from coughing so hard the other night, but I went to my lovely chiropractor buddy Dr. Mary today and she told me I have sprained a floating rib and the muscles around it and that I should feel better in a week. That’s better than a broken rib, which would’ve taken 3 months to heal!!! But who knew we had floating ribs??? You learn something new every day…

Emma Kelly ate her first bug today — that I know of.  Mama tells me stories of how I used to eat cigarette butts and sit in the refrigerator, so I’m not really too shocked by Emma Kelly’s behavior. She sure is a stubborn little thing, but again — not shocking considering where she came from.  But Mama tells me I was worse, so I just appreciate what little bit of aggravation that child gives me.

I booked “Elmo” for her second birthday party, only we can’t call him “Elmo.” He’s a fuzzy red monster who looks remarkably similar to Elmo, but he’s DEFINITELY NOT ELMO. I hope she loves him. Quite honestly, I’d be perfectly content to never see another episode of “Elmo’s World.” I swear they only made six episodes and just run the same ones over and over. It’s ridiculous when I get more excited than Emma Kelly when an episode I haven’t seen seven times before pops up on the TV screen!

Well! It’s my mama’s last night with me before she heads home to Daddy. I need to go snuggle up with her for a while before bedtime. Talk to you in the morning!

XO
Kellie

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. AHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!
    I’m so glad to hear about someone else who ate cigarette butts when she was a kid. Here I’ve gone over 40 years thinking I was the only one. Must be a redhead thing. 🙂

  2. Hey, Kellie! Sorry you’ve been sick. That’s no fun! I hate the coughing thing! Ouch!

    Don’t feel bad about Emma Kelly eating that bug! LOL My daughter sucked the wet water out of a mop I had just cleaned the floor with when she was an infant! I scrubbed her mouth out! LOL I nearly gagged, myself! Icky mommy moments! Fun stuff!

    I would love to make a custom Boutique Halloween costume for your little bug eater! 🙂 I make them and have always LOVED listening to the show! You just tell me what theme you want and I will send it for free! I feel like I’m listening to Emma Kelly grow up on the air! I listened the day she was born and can’t believe how fast they grow up.

    Hope you have a great week and quit coughing! 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Sharon Swan

  3. Kelly, you are so blessed to have a mother like yours. My mother passed away 6 years ago of Ovarian cancer. I would love to have her hear to offer advice, help me out, and to snuggle up with. Enjoy your snuggle, and God Bless you.

  4. Hi Kellie! There is nothing better than snuggling up with Momma! You enjoy your Momma & Emma Kelly! I love ya girlie!

  5. When we were remodeling, our house made us “sick”. Weird coughs, congestion, etc.. I can only imagine that has not helped your cough situation. Hope you enjoyed your vaction. It is good to have you back.

  6. I have to say, Kelly, I’m as jealous green as I can be reading your blog. My Mom is currently dying of 5 inoperable brain tumors and we’re in the process of planning her funeral. I sure hope you realize how precious your time with her is. Get off your blogging and go spend EVERY minute with her. Phelana, I know how you feel.
    And also Kelly, I know how you feel about remodeling. Uugghh! Sometimes, you just want to throw in the towel and get a new house, huh? Don’t ya wish we were all filthy rich and could just go live in the vacation home while the job was being finished and just come home to a beautifully remodelled home? Oh well. We are blessed anyway.
    Good luck with the cough and the house and everything.

  7. Oh my goodness you are so right about Elmo. I was a stay-at-home mom for 3 years and had to watch SS every single day and I think in that whole time I saw maybe 6 different Elmo’s Worlds. So irritating!

  8. I hear you on the Elmo thing. My 18 month old loves Elmo and I’m so tired of watching the same episodes over and over again. But what can you do, it makes her so happy and keeps her attention so I can have some rest from chasing her all day.

  9. My son just loves Elmo. Just a recommendation Kellie, he also loves ‘Friends’. He absolutley loves the theme song and actually enjoys the episodes too. He is 18 months old and has a favorite show I enjoy watching. I recently purchased the entire series on DVD. It’s about $200, but a small price to pay to watch my son dance.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

