Ready to face the world now!

August 10, 2008 at 10:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

I slept the entire day away. I hate when I do that, but my body was just shutting down on me. Turns out I was diagnosed with a sinus infection on Friday and while the doctor prescribed me this cough syrup with codeine in it, I couldn’t take it until today because I had Emma Kelly by myself all day Saturday. But when her daddy picked her up this morning, I took my medicine, ate a big old bowl of Raisin Nut Bran and went back to bed. Didn’t wake up til 4pm!!!

Before I was diagnosed with the sinus infection, I just figured I had a cold and was dealing with it. So Thursday night, I had a first date with this guy I’ve been wanting to go out with for a while and he FINALLY asked me. I had a Kidd’s Kids event I had to go to, so I asked if he would mind stopping by for that first. Of course he didn’t because he’s GREAT. And I proceeded to look like an idiot the rest of the night.

As soon as I walked in the door, something flew in my eye. I sat there poking at my eyeball and crying for a good ten minutes before I finally excused myself to go to the restoom and get that danged thing out.

So I come back out and he offers to get me a glass of wine. Great. While he’s gone, I take a lovely caesar chicken salad on a cheddar cracker concoction from a passing waiter and proceed to swallow and breathe at the same time. On top of being sick with a nagging cough anyway, I proceeded to have the coughing fit of my LIFE!! I stumbled back to the bathroom coughing so violently that people kept asking me if I was all right. I swear, I was coughing so hard that I was about to vomit. And all I can think about is my date out there wandering around with two glasses of wine wondering where the heck I disappeared to. It took me FOREVER to calm down, but by then I was still talking all weird — you know that ridiculous scratchy sounding voice you have after a coughing fit. And I had cried off every bit of my mascara and concealer, so I was both looking AND sounding real good. Ugh!

Believe it or not, after the event, he still wanted to take me to dinner. So I’m sitting there getting sicker and sicker and suddenly my nose holes are completely shut. For the rest of the night, I’m a mouth breather, which is especially sexy on a first date, don’t you think? When I wasn’t mouth-breathing I was coughing, but at least I gave him the impression I don’t eat because I absolutely COULDN’T. I felt so bad! I left everything almost untouched. SO unlike me.

I don’t know if he’ll ask me out again. He said something about leaving the next day for the Grand Canyon, but isn’t that code for “Get me the hell out of here! I never want to see you again!”?

XO
Kellie

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like some bad juju on your first date, but maybe he will see through the coughing, crying and lack of appetite what a beautiful person you really are! Hope so!!

  2. Don’t you love when you are having a horrible coughing fit and everyone keeps asking you if you are okay or asking if you want a drink of water? Umm… I can’t breathe here let alone talk or take a drink of water, lol!

  3. OMG!! Kellie I am laughing right outloud! Not at your expense…but I have had dates like that!!! It is horrible…it is Murphy’s Law dominating the entire evening…LOL! One thing I have learned..if someone really likes you, they will see past all of that. I am getting married in October to the “love of my life”…I am allergic to chocolate (can you believe that!!) and I just had to have some and wouldn’t you know it I met him the next day and went on a date with him the following day with a swollen tongue (I could hardly talk and when I did I sounded like an idiot) plus it causes sores in my mouth (I know that sounds gross but true) so I couldn’t eat either. Needless to say, I couldn’t believe it when he called the next day and still wanted to go out again!!! He and I have an agreement now though…I DON’T EAT CHOCOLATE!!!!! Good luck! I’m sure he will call…:)

  4. Hey! Just stumbled on to your blog; it was a fun read! Sorry your date didn’t go as planned.
    Hope you check out my blog http://maplesyrupandrew23.wordpress.com
    tc

  5. […] Ready to face the world now! I slept the entire day away. I hate when I do that, but my body was just shutting down on me. Turns out I was diagnosed […] […]

  6. Oh…not a good date.

    On the sinus thing…I saw it mentioned here a time or two…but try a neti pot. I love mine…the thought of it is gross, but it works sooo well.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

