My friend says it’s always weird for 3 days after the full moon…

July 24, 2008 at 2:53 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 12 Comments

I’m going to take my friend’s word for it that all of this weirdness is going to pass soon and I can get about the business of being blissful again.

What a day. They’re still hammering and banging at my house. Does the demolition part ever end?? We’re two and a half weeks in and it’s like, Come on already! How much more can you tear out? Let’s start putting some stuff back in here, people! I’m so overwhelmed by having to pick out appliances and paint colors and couches that I’m flying my mama in to come save me. I hope Emma Kelly will always look to me like that. I just think my mama’s the best. She’s got the best taste in decorating — she really should do that for other people and get paid for it. But she’s like me. No self-confidence. But we have so much fun together and I can’t wait for her to get here.

Other than the non-stop stress from the home remodeling and the big checks I’m writing to go along with it, the day was sort of up and down for me. For the life of me, I couldn’t find a single soul who was available to go have lunch with me today. I felt like such a loser! Sure, I could’ve sent out a text message blast a la Big Al, but that would seem so….loserish.  So I ended still ended up like a loser eating a Whopper all by myself in my car. And let me tell you what — that was the best danged Whopper I’ve ever had. I don’t think I’ve had one in about five years, and I’m not even exaggerating. So I’m sort of glad it worked out that way.

And since we’re eating every meal away from home these days, to balance the Whopper for lunch, I thought we’d do that Souper Salad bar for supper. Right. No over-indulging there! But the very best part of my night — besides inhaling half the salad bar all by myself — was having my daughter gag when she tried strawberry shortcake for the first time in her life and then projectile vomit all over the table. Poor thing! But what a perfect ending to my already perfect day.

Going to dinner with friends tomorrow night who are guaranteed to make me laugh until I forget about all the drama.

Oh! And I’m going to try to insert just one or two pictures of what my house looks like.

XO
Kellie

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would have had lunch with you, Kellie! 😉

    Have fun with your momma in town. Your house looks like a construction site but I am sure will be beautiful when its finished. Can’t wait to see it then!

  2. hey kellie, you know they have fresh boiling peanuts at the vietnamese grocery stores.

  3. sorry, i meant boiled peanuts

  4. I totally understand about calling everyone in your phone and nobody can go out to eat with you! It sucks!!! Can’t wait to see the finished rooms! Aren’t mamas great?! There to rescue when you need them!!

  5. Dang pootie, they got your house all jacked up! But I can’t wait to see the final results. Sorry EK pulled the exorcist vomit in public – that’s always fun!

    Have fun tomorrow night and forget about your drama!

    ps – I have a whopper about once a year and always wonder why I waited so long – deelish!

  6. I totally agree with your friend about the full moon thing – I have been in a funk since Tuesday and today I woke up and feel great again. 🙂 Have fun with your mom & EK!

  7. Wow, it has to be hard living in a house that is torn apart. The dust must be crazy! Hang in there, remember it is always darkest before dawn! The house will come together and so will everything else!

  8. Hhmmm… Maybe it would just be easier if you moved!
    Yes, Whoppers are pretty much the best thing ever.

  9. Don’t worry- we all go through those down times- but all those emotions pass back to great times and vice versa- just tell yourself you’ll get through it and nothing ever lasts… it will all be ok!! 🙂 I’m a single mom and often feel “loserish” if my little boy and I are at a restarant by ourselves but then I look at him and realize how blessed I am to be with him while he’s little and sweet and here. 🙂

  10. I’ve certainly had those days when all I want is to eat lunch with *anybody* and they are all busy…it is amazing how that can bring you down to feeling like a loser REALLY quick!!

    Oh my…your house is a wreck! That’s said with the utmost love…haha but no wonder you feel like you are having a weird few days. I hope it starts to look like a house again soon!

    And I know I shouldn’t laugh about Emma Kelly projectile vomiting the strawberries all over the table…but I did =) She’s the cutest thing, even when she is covered in sick.

  11. I would have had lunch with you – and I am so broke, but I would have done it! Sounds like you needed a friend. But luckily you have your Mama coming. I wish I had a Mom like that!
    Sorry about your house, but be glad you can write those checks!
    And for the drama, remember this mantra: “this too shall pass.”
    I SO didn’t intend on that rhyming! LOL Hang in there sista! And email me – I’d love to ‘do lunch’!

  12. vomit in public is so nice! my son ended my birthday party when he choked on a piece of food and vomitted all over his plate. He is just 6! i understand the construction..we have been building for the past 9 months. take care and enjoy your quiet lunches when you have them!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

