Summer fun

July 7, 2008 at 1:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 27 Comments

Hey! Emma Kelly and I flew from Dallas to Myrtle Beach Saturday. I was SO nervous about that flight. Prayed HARD all the way to the airport that God would help me keep her happy and entertained and that we would be surrounded by passengers with good senses of humor and that we would not be asked at any point to leave the plane. And God answered my prayers and she did GREAT. She didn’t sit there like a perfect little angel with her hands folded neatly on her lap, but we did have some cute little girls right behind us who loved humoring her by giving her dap and letting her wear their bracelets. And she mercifully took about a 30 minute nap — would’ve been longer had it not been for the scream of another baby on board waking her. But I couldn’t be mad about it. We mothers have to stick together and not get angry with each other over that which we have little or no control!ย  The only problem I had was the diaper incident. I gave her so much juice to suck on to help with her ears and keep her happy that her diaper reached maximum capacity. Thankfully I was holding her at the time, so only she and I were covered in pee and not the airplane seat. I would’ve been mortified if they had to trade out seats because of her leaky diaper. And since we had no change of clothes in the diaper bag, Emma Kelly was running around the airport in nothing but her diaper and hot pink Crocs. We looked so white trash but it was super cute! Anyway. Learned my lesson on that one! She’ll be wearing an overnight diaper on the flight home.

So we landed in Myrtle Beach and even though I told my parents and myself that I wanted to eat healthy this week and not do the usual gorge-fest, I can’t lie. I have done nothing but shovel food into my mouth non-stop since we got here. I hope the initial feeding frenzy has subsided and I can make it through the rest of the week without doing too much damage to the scales. But! It’s vacation, dang it! And I want some boiled peanuts and BBQ and China buffet!! So I’ll just go back on Dr. TED when I get back home for a few days and undo the damage that will be done.

Besides eating, all we’ve done so far is go to church. Of course I dressed Emma Kelly up in her prettiest pink and her biggest bow so my parents could show off their beloved granddaughter. She was a hit, of course. Then we gorged atย El Cerro —ย my parents’ favorite Mexican restaurant right across from the Wal-Mart which, by the way, is the second busiest Wal-Mart in the entire country. Then Mama and I took Emma Kelly to the Tanger Outlet because I wanted to get my baby some new shoes for her chubby-ubby little feet. She’s a 7W! And I love for her to wear Stride Rite, so we went to the outlet nd stocked her up on four new pairs of shoes that she so desperately needed. It was there that Emma Kelly pitched the hissy fit of her lifetime. She is so off schedule and didn’t have but a 15 minute nap in the car and she just couldn’t deal. I’m glad Mama got to see that. She now sees that yes, karma is a very real thing and I now have to deal with mini-Kellie just like she did many, many years ago.

Anyway! We are rolling slow on this Monday morning. Just took their dog Jo-Jo for a poopy walk and we’ll be heading to the beach later today to let Emma Kelly play in the waves. SO excited to watch her! She was only 9 months old last time we were here and all she could do was sit there and look cute in her bikini. This year will be a lot more fun. I’ll take lots of pictures, but it’ll be next week before I can post them.

Have a great week!

XO

Kellie

27 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Kellie

    Have a great week with your family!

  2. We miss all of ya’ll! Glad you survived the plane ride. Have fun at the Beach! Wish I was there with you. Really looking forward to next Monday when you all get back. It’s just not the same without the live show.

  3. Kel! Have a great time with your family! I can’t wait to see the pics of EK playing in the waves.

    My boys are almost 4 and I’m nervous about their first plane ride and it probably won’t be for another couple of years or so but I know if you can do it, I can do it! Keep us updated on your family fun!

  4. Enjoy your visit with your family. Can’t wait to see pics of Emma Kelly! Have a great week.

  5. Thanks for posting even though you’re on vacation. I’m glad you are having a great time. Eat some BBQ for me!!!!!!

  6. What a nice suprise to see posts while you guys are on vacation! Have a great week!

  7. I know you’ll have a blast here…I live in MB. Enjoy the sunshine for me while I work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I was so excited to see that you wrote in your blog even though you are on vacation! Very cool of you! I almost didn’t even check it, but am glad I did. Enjoy your week and good luck on the flight back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Have fun and be careful.

  10. Glad that Emma Kelly had a great flight.

    Any chance you’ll take her down to Disney World during Kidds Kids? Figured you would jump at the chance to take her (but don’t think you have).

    She’ll love it down there!

  11. I always pack an extra set of clothes at that age. Plus, a couple of hand towels (in case of vomit!). Did you know that most planes have a changing table in the restroom? It pulls down. I have changed my babies on the seat, too.

  12. I meant the AIRLINE seat, not the toilet seat! Eww!

  13. hey kellie! so i’m just here to show you support because i’m a loyal listener of KKITM and i really enjoy reading your blogs and seeing pictures of your daughter. woman, if you can get a younger man, more power to you! you’re only as old as you feel! so with that said, i really hope you take consideration for those of us who really do enjoy reading your rambles and that you can ignore the negative comments and ignorance of people who choose to leave you rude comments. if you’re on KKITM it’s obviously because you have more fans than haters ๐Ÿ™‚ you’re a gorgeous woman and if i were you, i wouldn’t even acknowledge the idiots who take the time out of your day to act as if your blog comments are a message board. you’re better and smarter than this!

    ps. your daughter’s gorgeous! & good luck on the flight home lol

    much love to you kellie!

  14. Happy 4th july Kellie

  15. Thanks for taking the time out to blog on your vacation! I love reading them! Have a great vacation ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to hear you guys again…

  16. Hey Kellie…Have a great vacation! EK is adorable…by the way I am dating a younger man, he’s 24 and I am almost 36…age is just a number honey!

  17. Emma Kelly is ridiculously adoreable!! That smile and those cheeks too cute not to make anyone who sees her smile back:) Its so great of you to blog while your on vacation, you are so good to your fans and that’s why we love you. Please enjoy your much deserved time off and don’t forget to take lots of pictures of your little bathing beauty (can’t wait to see the swim suit you got her!) Take care and have fun!

  18. Dani- But you are the one bringing up negative stuff! No one has said anything negative in the past two posts!

  19. Hi there!I am a new listener from Chattanoga, Tn. I really enjoy the show! You always make me laugh and smile. Your baby is too cute! Enjoy her time goes by so fast my baby is 15. Keep your blogs going .Have a good day and God Bless You!

  20. So happy to see your post! Glad your flight went well. Enjoy the beach with Mom, Dad, and EK!

  21. We miss y’all, Kellie! Have a great vaca and hurry back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. How nice to see a blog today! You’re so good to your fans, letting us in on your vacation fun, although I have to say you made me really HUNGRY talking about all that good food!

    Glad the flight went well and here’s hoping for a great return flight home and a really dry diaper!

  23. Please, tell your mom thank you for me. Her homemade mac and cheese has become a staple on my comfort food list. My daughter came home from a Mexican mission trip last night and she requested 100% carb loaded American food. The mac and cheese was on the top of the list. Food=love ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. I love listening to the show in the morning!!!I think that everyone is so funny, but I think that u and shannon rock!!The guys are funny to but we all know there only good for one thing!!j/k hahah I think its awsome ur dating a younger man, I am married to a guy 5 years younger, but he is truly only good for one thing!!!! I love the show!!!keep it real!!!!!

  25. This is slightly off the topic……….But, I just called to make reservations for Gay Bingo for next weekend (where I’m having my Birthday Party!) and they said that you were the Guest Hostess!

    I’m soooo excited to get to meet you!
    You are just a perfectly adorable Mamma with a deliciously cute baby girl!

    I owe you a cocktail for all the times you have ‘cracked-me-up’ in the mornings when I’m
    car-pooling!

    I’ll be the girl with the crown on!
    LOL
    Yes, I am ‘Queen for the day’ on my birthday!
    My kids (I have 3) crown me as soon as I wake up in the morning!
    Gotta love that!
    Serretta

  26. Serretta, love the queen for the day thing, I’m going to have to adopt that tradition!

  27. My sister lived in Myrtle Beach up until a few months ago, and I flew with my infant, and then toddler daughter there three times (we had some interesting flights too!). It was the site of her first “beach” vacation last summer when she was 15 months, and we had SUCH a good time. You got me thinking about my precious memories from that trip…my sweet girl playing in the sand in her bikini, jumping in the waves with me, etc. I hope you make the same wonderful memories with your sweet girl, who is beautiful by the way. And here’s tip if you ever fly w/ EK again…a product called “Earplanes”…it’s an ear plug for kids to wear during flight, and it made all the difference with my daughter. Here’s a link: http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=12444&catid=13837


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

