Feel sorry for me.

June 24, 2008 at 1:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 20 Comments

My mouth hurts. Not that much, really…but enough to garner some sympathy. Had to have a crown put on today and I sat there with my mouth propped open for a full hour, smelling my tooth shavings that tasted a bit like burned popcorn and sucking on laughing gas that left me feeling a bit nauseous.  Why does the dentist even ask if you want laughing gas or not? Why would anyone ever say no?

I think I’m going to go to bed early, though. Partly because I still don’t feel so great from the dental appointment and partly because 25 year olds like to sit up really, really late and I’m tired from our Frank Sinatra date night Sunday. I don’t know how much longer I can hang. Besides, he won’t want to much longer anyway. There’s only so long I can hide the fact that I’m truly, sincerely, not-even-joking-about-it, not fun. Not Derek’s sitting there practically beaming about the joys of camping, promising to take me one day so I can experience this oneness with nature. Uh…no. Then he asks me, “Do you ski?” No. “Do you scuba dive?” No. “Would you scuba dive?” No. “Bungee ju–” Don’t even get the words out of your mouth, no.  See? Who has two thumbs and isn’t fun? This chick right here. 

But I am looking forward to my date with Not Derek and J-Si Wednesday night. I do believe it’s going to be one of the more entertaining nights I’ve had in quite some time. Plus I found $70 in restaurant certificates that expire next month. Whoo-hoo! You know how much I love to eat for free!

Emma Kelly is changing so much. It’s fun, but I want to put the brakes on all of these changes happening all at once. She’s  personality plus — dancing and singing and flirting and showing off.   And she’s speaking in complete sentences already. That literally happened overnight! And she doesn’t even LOOK like a baby so much any more. She’s looks like a little girl with a really, really short haircut. So sad and wonderful all at the same time.

I’m contemplating taking a leftover Vicodin and going to bed. There aren’t many excuses I have to take a Vicodin and not feel guilty about it, and I think my dental work and sore mouth qualifies as a pretty good one.

XO
Kellie

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Show video of Emma Kelly talking!

  2. I know that you are ready that positive thinking book, but I wonder if you hear yourself? Instead of just enjoying the moment…you always tend to be SO pessimistic. I firmly believe that energy is what sabotages everything. You may not agree but that’s ok. Just have fun, maybe you SHOULD try to bungee jump or ski, you may be suprised and HAVE FUN! life is way to short….LIVE IT!

  3. Yes, please. You keep talking about how your sweet baby has grown. We’d love to see her!

  4. Just wanted to thank you for taking the time out to write your blogs. I wake up every morning with my fingers crossed to check if there is a new blog. I think you are a great mom and absolutely fabulous.

    I have a question for you though, where do you buy Emma Kelly’s gorgeous bows?

  5. I agree that you should at least try something new. I’m with you though on the scuba diving and bungee jumping…nope…snorkeling is fun and not dangerous…LOL…camping is a blast (in a cabin of course) and hiking is really exhilirating. You would probably like that! There must be some things you like to do that are fun? Bowling, Karaoke, cooking, boat riding (no, that’s Shanon), water parks???. Don’t worry about things you don’t consider fun. That’s why we are all different! Just focus on you (me, me, me, me, me)…hahaha

  6. try trimming EK’s hair (it doesn’t take much as I’m sure she doesn’t have much)…I did that to my son & it grew really fast after that.

  7. You make me laugh. I am not fun either. I like to just relax and play with my kids (Kevin David 4 1/2 years & Kadence Nicole 8 Monthes) I call my kids by both names too! Enjoy Not Derek for as long as it lasts.

  8. Kellie, you are great. I’m sorry your mouth hurts and I definately feel your pain, about little Emma Kellie growing too fast. My Emma is 11 months old, and I can’t stand the fact that she is losing that beautiful baby fat on her legs 😦 I can’t even remember my 5 year old being a baby. It is so cliche, but seriously, enjoy it now.

  9. your 40 not 60! Try something new who knows you might have some fun! Don’t be negative….

  10. You should at least try one new thing with Not Derek. You don’t have to do all of them, just one. Like jet sking or parasailing. Both are safe and lots of fun. Just imagine yourself riding behind that hunk of 25 year old on a jetski while your both soaking wet…

  11. […] Feel sorry for me. My mouth hurts. Not that much, really…but enough to garner some sympathy. Had to have a crown put on today and I […] […]

  12. OMG!!!! Emma Kelli has shot up over night it seems like. You are right about her not being a baby anymore…but they are some much fun at this age because they play and joke back with you!!

  13. Trying something new is good, but honestly, by the time you’re 30+ you probably know yourself well enough to have a good idea of what you might enjoy, and what you would consider hellish. Fun for some people is playing with the kids or the pets, watching a show you really enjoy, reading a book, having a meal or drinks with friends, or a movie. For some people, actively working at an activity in order to have fun isn’t fun so much as it is work! I agree on the camping though – in the right (rv or cabin with ac) it can be fun. Whatever floats your fun boat! As for the “kid” you’re seeing – you go girl!!

  14. the picture of emma reading is just absolutly adorable! love the hat! and yes dental work definatly intitles you to take a vicodin!

  15. you crack me up!!! I like your way of thinking.. Ha! so sarcastic and hilarious! why arent you this funny on the air! 🙂

  16. You’re my favorite! =)

  17. Just for you: I am very sorry that you are in (some) pain. Go for the Vicodin; no one will blame you.
    Kellie, you are NEVER too old to try new things. You should try it before saying no to it. There are plenty of fun, adventurous, safe activities for you to do with Not-Derek (ie hiking). Give it a shot! And if you end up not liking it, try something else

    P.S. I love the pictures of EK!

  18. The best advice I ever got when I became newly single was “If you don’t enjoy being around you, no one else will”.

    I got POed, then pondering it and realized there was a lot of truth to that. Attitude is a lot!

    Just something to think about!

  19. “She looks like a little girl with a really, really short haircut.”

    That’s so funny!

  20. hey kelly – I’ll feel a little sorry for you. Dont let the freaks get to you. You seem to put into words exactly what i’m thinking at times. You have the perfect way of voicing what’s on your mind and dont ever take criticism for your thoughts & feelings. They are yours!! I love the pic of Emma Kelly reading! She looks so cute!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

