I went with OPI’s Monsooner or Later on the toes…

May 29, 2008 at 3:23 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 28 Comments

That other pink was just too………..pink. I just got my fingernails buffed, though. It’s too difficult to keep up with fingernail polish. I can sometimes go a good month between pedicures, though.

I don’t know what I’m going to do about Emma Kelly and her aversion to diaper changes right now. It is SO frustratingly difficult to get her to lie still for that, and quite frankly, I’m letting her go longer between diaper changes. She flails and wails and punches and kicks and I just want to cry but I can’t because I’m the mom. How long do phases last EXACTLY?  If I know there’s an exact end date to this, I can get through this with much greater ease. I just need something to look forward to.

Otherwise, she is the bestest thing ever! Her hugs are huge and her smile is bright and her voice is the sweetest. Now her thing is, “I see you!” And she just kisses. She kisses everything. My knee. The dog’s back. The book she’s reading. Her shoe. Anything that catches her eye gets a kiss.  I love when I catch her eye like that.

So! Went to the Sex and the City screening Tuesday night and let me just tell you this — I loved it! I wasn’t a regular watcher of the TV show, but I did catch it on occasion. But even if you didn’t watch it religiously, you will love this movie. It just makes you want to be a better girlfriend to your girlfriends. I know life gets in the way and we all have our obligations and it’s not quite so simple to get together on a nightly basis — as they seemingly do in the movie — but it’s important to make more of an effort.  And I found that I want to be more like each of the women in the movie, except for Miranda. I just can’t find one thing about her that I would like to emulate. But I would love to have Carrie’s love of fashion and her lack of guilt in spending ridiculous amounts of money to have it. I would love to have Charlotte’s delicate nature and bright outlook. I would love to have Samantha’s fearlessness and just SOME of her brazen, unapologetic sexuality. Again, can’t think of a single thing I’d want from Miranda……..

In the meantime, can’t wait to hook up with my girlfriends again!

XO
Kellie

 

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I remembered when my boys did that flailing around at diaper change. My first son, I did all the things they tell you – have a special toy just for diaper changes, etc. Nothing worked. Until the day he kicked me in the face and I gave him one quick pop on his butt. From then on, I just told him I would pop him and he would lie still. (most of the time) When my younger son started it, I just popped him on the butt and he never did it again. I know this is politically incorrect but it worked. I never spanked very much at all but the fact that they knew I would was a great deterrent. Now they are very nice, respectful teens and I don’t regret it a bit. Thanks so much for sharing your life with us!!!

  2. Try giving her a sippy cup of juice/water/milk right when you lay her down on the table. Anything for her to have in her hands to occupy her while you get the job done!

  3. My baby is 9 months old, and he already twists and turns and and wiggles and cries with every diaper change. And, he is SO strong already! 🙂 I’m right there with you on going longer than I used to between wet diaper changes….it is just such a PROJECT getting it done with him!!

  4. Try giving Emma Kelly a small toy to occupy her attention while changing her diaper. Or, if you have a diaper table, or another set location where you always change her, find something fun and colorful that you can tape to the ceiling so that she can look up at it and focus on that. If you stick one or more pictures on the ceiling, you can make a game of it by asking her to ‘find the butterfly’, or ‘find the *whatever it is that you put up there*’. That way it’s entertaining for her, and it’s easier for you!

    Hope this helps you!

  5. Oh, and that method of the ceiling thing also helps in the bathtub when you need to wash her hair. 🙂

  6. I’ve had that problem before with a few of my nannykids. At her age, she’s ready to “help” you! Make a big deal about letting her HELP YOU change her diaper! She can hold her diaper until you’re ready for it, and she can hand you wipes when you need them. (And really overdo it–“THANK YOU, Emma Kelly! What a great helper you are!” etc.) Jeni (commented above) also has good suggestions! Good luck!

  7. I haven’t seen the SATC movie yet or read any spoliers, so I don’t know the movie’s plotline, but what I always admired about Miranda was her straight talk. If she thought you were doing something stupid (like moving to Paris to be with your jerk boyfriend you’ve only known a minute), she would tell you and it would be from love.

  8. OK, I totally went through this too… and my solution… Pull Ups. My daughter really got into it being like a “big girl”. AND I started sitting her on the potty when I knew she was about to go number 2. She hated being dirty, so that was an easy one. I know people tell you not to do the potty thing too young, but if she is hating her diaper she may be telling you she is ready.

  9. I have a little one who is about a month older than Emma Kelly. He started that phase around 17 months or so and now, at 20 months, he’s finally out of it! Of course, now he just takes his diaper off every chance he gets so we always have to keep it covered. 🙂

  10. I keep telling myself through “phases” of my boys(ages 2&4) “This too shall Pass!” words to live by some days – As Jeni says, find something else to get her attention, it is easier at this age to divert their attention. Good Luck w/ that and yes as you have said before, it is a great age right now!(So sweet and humorous) Someone once told me the days are long, but the years are short.

  11. I cannot wait to see this tomorrow night! 🙂

    Also, Kellie, I just wanted to say to please ignore the haters and perhaps well-meaning but poorly worded comments. You’re a great mom and a big inspiration to a lot of us who struggle with weight and self-image. (Even 20 somethings like me.) So keep being you and 99% of us will keep loving you for it! The other 1% is just noise.

  12. Kellie-
    I think you are great and very real and relatable! Any woman who is posting to tell you what you NEED to do, needs to re-examine themselves. That’s not helpful! We all have things about ourselves that we dislike, we all have hang ups and insecurities. I especially liked the lady who told you to get out your Bible, go to church, and join a singles group! First, has she ever been to a Baptist singles group? Second, what’s that Bible verse about not pointing out the log in your neighbor’s eye, i.e. pointing out the flaws in others instead of looking at your own flaws….

  13. Okay, I haven’t seen what her character does in the movie, but I always kind of thought Miranda was the most realistic character and did the most growing throughout the series. Of course, I’m a big cynic so I guess I related the most to her!

  14. Hey Kellie-
    I know she is still young but you could always try moving to pull-ups. When we moved to pull-ups my son thought that was the greatest thing since sliced bread. The ceiling suggestion is a good one too though.

  15. Sounds like potty training time for Miss Emma Kelly. My little girl is almost 20 months and completely potty trained. She started that fighting me thing and I told her if she wanted to fight me then she could fight me on the potty.

  16. When my son went through his aversion to having his diaper changed the only thing that worked was giving him a long piece of packing tape. I kept a roll right there on the changing table and would tear him off a piece as soon as I laid him down. He would lay there and play with that tape and never even noticed that I was changing his diaper! Good Luck!!!

  17. Probably cause you are already most like Miranda. We always want to be what we are not!

  18. Maybe crying WILL work. Maybe she will stop because she doesn’t want to hurt your feelings.

    Otherwise talk to her about big girl panties and use the opportunity to start potty training early. I had 3 nieces who were totally done at 18mos. My kids were all well into their second year but hey ~ ya never know.

  19. Raising kids is hard work – harder than any career/job that I have ever had! Somebody write me a manual with all of the answers. Worth it all, though.

  20. I work at a daycare, & if their not dirty, I change them standing up.(a lot of the times) Open the diaper up and use your knee, while bending down, to hold the diaper in place against the back side, use your two free hands to fasten the front, and your done. It is kind of tricky. It is real fast. Balloons on the ceiling, or streamers hanging down are fun, too.

  21. kellie u need a life..too old for dating..grl.. take care of emma instead flirting around. later

  22. The only thing you and Miranda have in common is the red hair. Plus her son Brady has red hair like Emma Kelly too…so that is about how close you two can be alike.

  23. Great post, Kellie! So glad to not hear you mentioning weight problems and it was a positive post.

  24. Hey Kellie! What I did with my son is change him while he standing up (not for poopy diapers, though). If you’ve never done it, you have to try! It goes much quicker and they like not having to lay down (and feel vulnerable). It took a little practice, but I’m a pro at it now.

    Also, kids love shaking the powder bottle, so you could let her do that after you change the poopy ones!

    Good luck!

  25. Kellie –
    I’ve got two in diapers right now and the only way I can keep them still is with stickers. I keep a roll on the changing table. I stick two or three on their arms, belly, forehead, etc. By the time they get them all off, you’re through!

  26. Yeah so my son has done for four months and still continues to do this. I know this sounds bad but I just lay him on the floor now and i put my legs forward so they are holding his arms down. It is on the only way. I tried popping him on the butt a little didn’t work, tried a toy it didn’t work… nothing but that.

  27. I don’t have any advice about changing Emma Kelly’s diaper, but I do love that Monsooner or later nail polish! OPI nail polish is my favorite. 🙂

  28. I agree with another comment posted here. Sounds like Emma Kelly is ready to ditch the diaper. My daughter was also totally potty trained by the time she was 20 months, I think even before that!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

