Happy Mother’s Day!

May 12, 2008 at 2:49 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 25 Comments

I have just spent over 2 hours getting Emma Kelly to go down for the  night.  It’s all part of it, right? And I love being a mommy so much and I’m so appreciative that God answered all my prayers with this most beautiful, precious, frustrating child!

She’s only 18 months old, so we were pretty limited on how we could celebrate the day together.  Freddie was great to keep her for me Saturday night because the whole show had to go down to San Antonio. He brought her back to me around lunchtime today and had a card from her to me. Very thoughtful. Then I packed Emma Kelly up and we headed to the park. That just seemed like the right thing to do. All was pretty picture perfect until she decided to try climbing up the slide. She slid down face first on a slide that must’ve been about a million degrees from sitting in the direct sun. Thank the Lord she wasn’t burned, but she sure did scream bloody murder. So that was the end of our park experience.

Knowing she loves books so much, I decided to take her to the book store. Why would they put the children’s section upstairs with an escalator beckoning toddlers to come for a death ride all the way down? I managed to grab hold of her before she took that long, fatal plunge, but she didn’t like me one bit for doing that. It was one of those moments where your precious angel drops to the ground like a limp dishrag and screams like you’ve just ripped away all her reason for living. Yeah. That was the end of our bookstore experience.

So I gave up on trying to entertain my daughter for Mother’s Day and put her in the car for the 10 minute ride home. Two minutes into the drive, she was out like a light. So I decided to just drive around and let her sleep because she and I both needed the break. An hour and who knows how many dollars of gas later, I pull into the garage with my precious bundle. She was back to her usual self, so we went inside and played puzzles and watched Barney and ate supper. We were having a great time trying on hats and rain boots and wrestling and just being together….but then it was bedtime.  And like I mentioned at the top of this blog — over 2 hours later, I’m finally able to clean up the mess and put a few thoughts down here.  I still thank God for every moment of it, but WHEW! It was a long day!

But Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies! And my thoughts and prayers are with those still struggling to become a mommy. It wasn’t so long ago that I shared that pain, and my heart goes out to you, especially today.

XO
Kellie

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. goodness she must not like bedtime too much…try a music player that attaches to her crib i have an 18 month old who loves hers…shes out in 5 minutes with that thing…no fighting or yelling

  2. Maybe she needs to stay up a lil later. My sister uses a sound machine and it seems to work wonders!
    Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. Motherhood is always full of adventure! Some are exciting and fun filled, others are stressful and make you want to pull your hair out.
    She is precious, forsure, treasure the good, the bad and the ugly it’s all part of being a Mommy!!! 😉

  4. I’m so glad you know how to enjoy all of these precious moments, I watched my 5year old walk out in a cap and gown Friday as she graduated from Pre-School and all I could see was that same picture in 13 years! And then we get home and she promptly tells me she has a loose tooth!!! She just got these teeth, how is it already time for the tooth fairy??? Can you say Nervous Breakdown?? It’s too much for me!! Goes by sooo fast!! Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!!!

  5. Kellie,
    I just wanted to say how thoughtful it was to include the moms who can’t conceive (yet) in your Mother’s Day message. I have never been in that situation (I was nicknamed Fertile Myrtle after my honeymoon baby arrived), but the fact that you still remember the heartache and acknowledge other moms who are experiencing it speaks volumes to your character and compassion.

  6. I have a three year old and a one year old (as of yesterday) and the only thing I can tell you is that this is just the beginging. I refer to the terrible two’s as the prequel to the teenage years. As for bedtime, if you are consistent with your bedtime routine, I promise over time you will be able to put your child to sleep even when they do not seem to be tired and they will be out like a light within five minutes of your leaving the room. There is hope. Kelly, I have so much respect for you. You have taken what life has given you and made the best out of it. I have no doubt that Emma Kelly is going to be an amazing woman when she grows up because you are an amazing mom. Have a great day!!!!

  7. Thanks Kellie for your comment at the end about the struggling wanna-be-moms,yesterday was a tough one, but maybe next year will be better. I appreciate your thoughts and good wishes for us!

  8. Kellie,
    It’s so great to see a mother who is appreciative of even the most trying times with a little one. That is what it’s all about. Those are the memories that matter…or at least that’s what I think! My little girl is 12 months old and my yesterday was very similar to yours. We went to the park and had a blast, but had little fits along the way. I guess it’s just the age.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you too!

  9. I really appreciate the “shout out” to those trying to get pregnant! I haven’t been trying super long, but Mother’s Day is no fun when you are having trouble becoming a mommy.

    On another note I saw Baby’s Mamma Mother’s Day, and it was hilarious. I really felt for the main character, and I am sure you will too when you see it. Take care.

  10. I feel your pain! I have a 2 yr old who went through the bedtime troubles for awhile (at about 18 mos). Every afternoon I would start dreading bedtime b/c it was so difficult to get her down. I felt terrible just leaving her there to cry….but at the same time, I only prolonged it by going in there. I don’t think there’s any great, right answer…but just know you’re not alone! And eventually, she’ll get back into the normal bedtime routine.

    Oh, and you mentioned taking EK to the park…have you been to Andy Brown Park in Coppell? It’s the most amazing park and it’s huge..with a duck pond! The best part is, it’s shaded by huge trees! It’s one of my daughter’s favorite places to go….plus she gets all her energy out and takes great naps! 🙂

  11. I’ve always heard that children that are very bright and precosious have trouble going to sleep at night due to their overactive imagination. I guess that they have a hard time slowing down. I think that this was true for my daughter but luckily my son sleeps on command w/o much of a struggle.

  12. That “limp dishrag” thing you were talking about is also known as “going boneless”. My 3 year old still does it!

  13. Kelly I’m so glad that you said something to the people out there that are currently trying to become mommies (myself being one of them). Most people forget how hard that day can be for people who are having trouble conceiving. You and Emma Kelly are an inspiration to me that I will one day become a mom also:)

  14. Sounds like the perfect Mother’s day!

  15. Jenn,

    I hope next year is better for you too. I never comment here but the end of Kellie’s blog moved me too. I have been there, and tonight I will pray for a happy ending for you too.

  16. Thank you for mentioning all of us that struggle with not being a mom yet. My husband and I are on our second round of IVF with Dr. Doody. We pray for our success this 2nd time around!

  17. Thank you so much Kellie for you closing comments. It is very inspiring to see someone actually succeed at what we’re fighting so hard for.

  18. My children always have a hard time adjusting to “me” and “my schedule” after a day or two with dad….it also seems like she is hitting the terrific two’s

  19. Three rounds of IVF later w/ the Doody’s, we now have an 8 month old son. Lord, that time was such an emotional rollercoaster. But, there can be success!

  20. Kellie,
    I really appreciate your kind words at the end of your blog. My husband and I had been trying for over 2 years to get pregnant and after many fertility treatments I am FINALLY pregnant. Mother’s Day was a day of mixed emotions for me. You and EK are a inspiration. Thank you again.

  21. Thanks Kellie to have mention the mothers having a hard time conceiving. Some days I wake up wondering if God will bless me one day too. But that means alot. Hey tell Freddy to write a song about fertility!

  22. Thanks for including us “strugglers”! Mother’s Day is a double-edged sword for me at times ❤

  23. Kellie,
    You and I were going through fertility treatment at the same time and got pregnant the same month. Jackson (my son) is 3 weeks older than Emma Kelly. I am going through the same things with the fits. It is so hard to even go in public anymore! You are supposed to ignore the bad behavior, but it is hard when he is throwing himself on the floor!
    I am right with ya!!

  24. Kellie, your sweet words at the end brought tears to my eyes. So thoughtful! Thank you.

  25. Thanks for thinking of us”want to be mommies” It is hard. Thank you for your kind words it hits home. You are a special mom.
    Prayers to you and Emma Kellie


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

