delicious word of the day — panoramic

May 2, 2008 at 2:14 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 17 Comments

I have made a huge decision. I am removing “As The World Turns” from my season pass Tivo options. I will no longer record it. I will no longer watch it. I’m done. These people are boring me out of my mind and all I do is just fast-forward through ridiculous scenes involving characters I don’t care about talking about stuff that doesn’t matter.  I’m done. I’m just done. I officially have become — after all these years of commitment — a chick who doesn’t watch soap operas any more. And I’m thinking about deleting “The View,” too. I just can’t take it any more.  I’d rather sit and watch the same episode of “Blue’s Clues” with Emma Kelly for the fourth time than listen to those women prattle for one more minute. So! What am I going to do with all this free time now?

I want to do something creative and expressive. I don’t know what that will be, but I want to DO something. And I want to be good at it. I’m going to have to think on that a spell.

So we’re getting a group together to go out Friday night. Uncle Daddy’s got the itch and he’s rounding up the masses. Don’t know where we’re going, but I have a feeling my night will include dueling pianos at some point. All I know is, I can’t drink on this stupid diet — well, I CAN. I can have one 5-ounce glass of dry red wine if I’m willing to give up one of my two fruits for the day. I’m not sure I’m willing to do that…So I’m the official designated driver, and isn’t she always the fun one in the group. I don’t know for sure, but I have a feeling the night’s not going to end pretty for me.

I busted my butt in pilates today and I barely have the strength to press the keys right now, so I think I’ll just end this here.

XO
Kellie

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah not drinking isn’t always fun, but going into the night with a positive attitude will help a little. It sounds like you are already setting up the night to be a failure. Don’t worry you will be with friends and I am sure you will still have a good time. The next day you will also be proud of yourself if you don’t drink. On May 23 you wont even remember that night and all you will be thinking about is how awesome you look!

    We’re proud of your weight loss so far. Love ya kellie!!

  2. Maybe you could start scrap booking. I know it sounds pretty boring, but it can be fun too. You get to go through either your own child hood memories or others and the end result is something you can either show off in your home or give as a gift on Holidays. You can also work on it at your own pace. I have been meaning to start it, but my life is very busy right now with a full time job and a two year old and a 6 month old, but I plan to start some as gifts for Christmas soon.
    Hope this helps!
    Rebecca

  3. you should go to a place with dueling banjos.

  4. I stopped dvr-ing As The World Turns about a month ago. After Craig left, they brought in some new chick for Lily, and moved off Will and Gwen, I am totally done with pretending that show is any good anymore.

  5. first…and second!!!

  6. I was addicted to ATWT and GL from 1980 through 1995. One day I just went cold turkey and gave them up. You can too!

    I suggest you check out digital scrapbooking and start recording all those wonderful Emma Kelly memories for her.

  7. Don’t do it. I always say just one glass of wine…and that never happens. I don’t know that I would want to be a DD either though. Drunk people are really annoying when you’re not one of them. Kudos for sticking to your diet so well and HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

  8. Kellie, you are doing great on your diet! Hopefully you can have fun tonight even though you are the DD. I get stuck being that vey often and I actually have fun laughing at all the stupid things drunk people say and do! At least you won’t be waking up with the hangover!

    I LOVE pilates and am glad to see you are doing it as well! You will love the results.

    All the best –

  9. I’m the designated driver every time! I generally get even by bringing a camera…. : )

  10. That’s funny, I was just thinking how I am done with KKITM show. I am too old for the show (as old as most of the hosts) and I certainly don’t like the music much. But, I’ve been listening for so long, it is a habit. Kidd’s discussion about politics have been making it easier but now that Kellie has pulled the plug on “As the World Turns” I’ll pull the plug on KKITM!

    Funny, when someone emails or posts a message that they will no longer watch the show, Kellie and others make fun of them. I suppose they’ll make fun of me as well. Maybe the writers at “As the World Turns” will too.
    Farewell! When you all are too old to host this station and get moved to an older g

  11. I will say, once you begin to listen to another radio station that actually has some substance, with people on it who know what’s really going on in the world, and their first priority is not just about themselves…..Such as, “What celebrity is coming to town”, “Keeping up with Britney Spears”, “How fat they are this week”, or “listening to them make fun of each other”, then you’ll begin to cringe at how immature KKITM sounds….and realize why our country has so many young people who know nothing about their country …..nor do they care….

  12. I agree with Sheila I am about to jump ship too! KKITM needs young blood (and not someone like Taylor who lied the whole time). JC is great but delusional if he thinks that Kinsey told him the truth about staying out all night). Big Al is good and so is Kidd but Kellie…..I sometimes feel I am listening to a really old woman who is so judgemental and set in her ways. How does that guy put up with her. It must be her money he is after.

  13. Kelly,

    Maybe you could take up scrapbooking in your free time? I didn’t think I would like it but when the kids go to bed it is kind of relaxing!

    Just a thought,
    Danielle

  14. Kellie–you are doing something creative and expressive—-you’re raising a child!

    The ladies on The View are doing just what y’all do on the radio every morning…talking about topics, expressing their viewpoints, exchanging witty banter, etc.

    What’s wrong with being the designated driver?
    You don’t have to drink to have a good time.
    At your age, you should know that by now!

  15. Sheila – don’t most people “listen” to a radio show? Do you watch yours? I think there is a webcast so maybe that’s what you mean. Here’s a plus, if they make fun of you, you won’t be listening/watching (whichever) so you will be no worse off. Good luck and everyone will miss you!

  16. Sheila,
    I hear ya, I to feel like I’m to “old” (or maybe the word is mature) for the show however I’m younger than Kidd Al & Kellie. Its probably somewhat of a delima for Kidd; they have a young listener base so they need to cater to that, however at what point to they (the over 40 hosts) all just look ridiculous? Is it going to be the same subject matter when they are 50+? Talkin about The Hills and getting drunk and obsessing over bad body images?

  17. I’m still trying to find a good red wine.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

