delicious word of the day — magenta

April 28, 2008 at 2:35 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 33 Comments

I have not cheated on my diet and I just wrapped up day 10!  Believe me, I am tempted!! I am REALLY tempted! I’ve been to a birthday party for twin one-year-olds, a Passover seder, a birthday dinner for my mother, and a sip-and-see for Amy’s new baby girl and I never faltered. I am so proud of myself I could spit!

I went walking for 30 minutes tonight all by myself — just me and my iPod. And it was fantastic. I kept skipping over to all the songs that made me feel like strutting my stuff, and that’s exactly what I did.  I WAS Stevie Nicks. I WAS Beyonce. I WAS Alanis Morissette. And I was FABULOUS! I visualized myself on a catwalk — on a stage — dancing down the aisle — running in slow motion on the beach. It was a complete out-of-body experience and I loved it. I hope for more of those.

I don’t know if there IS a perfect age, but I’m starting to think Emma Kelly has reached it. Eighteen months is just the BEST! She is so fun and she hugs so hard and she just wants to kiss everything and it’s just a perfect time in her little life right now. People keep telling me that we’re entering the best of the best — from now until about 2nd or 3rd grade. Then I hear it’s all pretty much downhill from there with little girls. I’m hoping they’re all just teasing me or that we’re going to be the exception to the rule. If she stays on this path and I miraculously don’t manage to screw this up, I might be on the right track to raising a pretty amazing person.

XO
Kellie

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 18 months is truly the best. There is nothing better than watching the child you love discover something new – like how a leaf blows in the wind, or the soft fur of a puppy or how you can click a ballpoint pen. Keep up the good work – you can teach her so much at this age!

  2. I enjoyed 18 months with my little boy but he is 3 now and I LOVE it! He is able to really sit down and talk with me and we have the best time – singing, talking about all that he sees, playing together…you’re doing a great job with Emma Kelly!

  3. just wait…children are not called echoes from eden for not…at one point…between 14 & 16 she may even say she hates you…i must profess, i am unable to comprehend the mother daughter relationship…ib thus particular case, i hope the aforementioned never happens.

  4. You sound happy! Glad you had a good weekend!

  5. Hi Kellie,
    18 months is great, but I have to tell you it doesn’t get worse. Or maybe I’m just blessed with a terrific daughter. My daughter is going on 14, and yes she gets her attitudes, but so do I. We’ve learned to balance it out. We have a wonderful relationship. We can go sit at Barnes & Noble and read books all night, go clothes shopping and soon I get to help her pick out her 8th grade formal dance dress. Everyday has been a blessing from the day she was born. Enjoy every moment Kellie.

  6. Just enjoy all the time you get with your little girl, they truly grow up so fast. It may seem like we have all the time in the world to be with them, but we only have so much time to keep them. good Luck with your diet, I hope you make it and everything.

  7. My girls are now 23, 20 and 16 and every age is precious. I still have times with my oldest that I think this is just my favorite time with her…

  8. my 2 girls are 5 and 7. i have always told people that if they could just wait until their baby is 18 months, they’ll see a whole different child. they truly do transform from a “baby” to a little person. it’s amazing. and like you said, the perfect age. enjoy every moment that you can. mine are both still mommy’s girls at their age, and i’m taking it while i can!!!

    Jennifer

  9. Your the best, I love how honest you are. I wish their was a quick fix for body image issues (I could insert another word). YOU are beautiful, on many different levels. Don’t you wish you could see yourself the way others see you?
    I just wanted to give you kudos on raising your gorgeous little girl, you are doing a wonderful job. All she REALLY needs is love and you give her tons of that.
    Thanks for always offering us honesty with humor.

  10. 2 & 3yrs old was challenging w/my daughter, 15 thru 18 was stressful, but 19 is the best!!!

  11. I went to six flags this weekend and saw tons of 15-16 year olds standing in line groping each other. To think teens at this age are having sex is scary and really gross. If I ever have a girl I will install a tracking device at this age.

  12. I went to six flags this weekend and saw tons of 15-16 year olds standing in line groping each other. To think teens at this age are having sex is scary and really gross. If I ever have a girl I will install a tracking device at this age.

  13. Hi Kellie~ I really think 4 is a great age too! My daughter was funny and silly and I loved it. She is now 7 1/2 and we are back to having that same silliness and fun again! Their stages are so different! Don’t worry, I think your friends are just teasing you….ps, I am a single mom too. I love reading your blogs. Thanks!

  14. What is a sip and see that you went to for Amy’s little girl????

  15. I’m so proud of you – no cheating! I’ve been watching what I eat and exercising and I’m down 30 pounds so far. Not cheating for 10 days is quite an accomplishment. Good for you for meeting your goals and even better for you for having such a precious baby!

  16. Good job Lori! That’s the best way to lose weight and keep it off. Diet’s are good in terms of seeing a quick turn around in losing weight, but not so great about keeping it off longterm. It’s all about a lifestyle change. I bet you look great and feel great! Just wanted to send you a kudos.

  17. What’s a sip-n-see?
    Just wondering?
    Thanks!

  18. Just looked at Uncle Daddy’s my space and all the sudden he is a private site and is aggravated and not a happy camper today. Please tell me it is not between you two…I was so hoping he was at least a long term hottie.

  19. 18 months is the best!!!!! I agree! I always tell people that is my favorite age.

  20. 18 months IS such a cute age. They understand what you are saying, but are too young back-talk you. Do enjoy the time before the “terrible two’s” kick in.

    Well I need a list of all those feel good songs you have on your IPod so I can strut too!

  21. Craig WTF??? Comment on things you know about, not those in which you know nothing.
    Go read some of Martin Luther’s treatises.

  22. Awe thanks Laura! 🙂

  23. wtf…i was referring to mans rebellion to his creator…you may want to read the book of Genesis…i need not seek uncanonized works to observe the obvious.

  24. Sip & See:

    I’ve never heard of this, but I would guess a Sip & See is where you have a designated day to have ppl come by to see your baby & drinks are served (probably so you don’t have a whole month of ppl coming by.

  25. Sip & See:

    I’ve never heard of this, but I would guess a Sip & See is where you have a designated day to have ppl come by to see your baby & drinks are served (probably so you don’t have a whole month of ppl coming by.

  26. BB – A sip and see is kind of like an open house with tea or cocktails so that your friends can come and meet the new baby.

  27. babies and cocktails, always a good combination, lol!

  28. Kellie, your hair looks pretty pulled back. Your cheekbones are to die for! I’m glad Emma Kelly is at the fun stage and yes, it will keep getting better!

  29. Uncle Daddy’s Myspace is now private…hmmm…maybe he’s getting bombarded by people who listen to this show.

  30. diet coke plus has helped me lose 5-10 pounds

  31. I can’t wait to hear how your diet is going. I go to the doctor whose office you went to. (I’m sure that grammatically incorrect!) Anyway, I thought about doing the diet. But it was so expensive I just couldn’t do it without knowing it would work. I’ve spent money doing other procedures in that office and they didn’t work at all. But they didn’t cost as much as the diet. So let me know how it goes. I might give it a try.

  32. i want to have a sip & see party…only with babes, not babies.

  33. I always like to see what you write about Emma Kelly because my little girl Kylie is I think about a week or two older…she loves to hug and kiss and she is at the stage where if you ask her to say something she usually tries.I love this stage too and I like to keep up with what you say about Emma Kelly to make sure Kylie is up to date. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

