delicious word of the day — “Leslie”

March 26, 2008 at 3:54 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 52 Comments

Breathe in. Breathe out. Cumbayah. Mama Say Mama Sa Mama Cu Sa. It’s not me; it’s you.

So, I’ve gotten myself roped in to this ridiculous bathing suit bet. Lose 10 pounds by the Friday before Memorial Day weekend or my bikini shot is posted on the internet for all the world to see. Actually, it will be a tankini shot. I don’t own a bikini and haven’t owned one since I was approximately 6 and I wasn’t about to buy one just for this picture that will hopefully never see the light of day. I hate this so much.

So I knew I was going to have my body fat taken today, so I went home from work and took a nice, long, hot bath and shaved my legs. I didn’t know exactly how personal this caliper thing was going to be, so better to be safe than sorry. But I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I’m at 19.7 percent. For my age, I’m right where I’m supposed to be for health purposes. For wearing a bathing suit in front of your co-workers while on vacation in Mexico? Hell to the no!

Trainer Chad — who is very cute, by the way, if anybody’s got “cuteness” on their list of what they’re looking for in a personal trainer — says I have to eat 1464 calories a day, divided up between 6 meals. Each meal must be 40% protein, 50% carbs, and 10% fat. I have to eat every 2-3 hours and I can’t go longer than 3 hours, 15 minutes between meals. He wants me to have my first meal by 5am. This means if I eat every 3 hours, I will be wrapping up my food-a-palooza each night around 8. How am I going to do this?? I’m going to have to carry a refrigerator around with me! And the calculations I have to make. Ugh! I’m too lazy for this. I just want to stop eating, which he assures me will completely backfire…but what does HE know! I’m just kidding. I know he knows. I’M the one who doesn’t have a clue.

I also went and re-signed back up at the gym, where I plan to follow Uncle Daddy’s suggestion and “Get on the treadmill and run your ass off!” He’s so cute…And I’ve got pilates twice a week, so that’s set. I’m also going to go back to that core fusion class and sign up for some of those. Overkill is the name of the game here, people.

The bad part is, Uncle Daddy is finally coming over tomorrow night so I can cook for him. The plan calls for my mama’s macaroni and cheese, but now I can’t eat any of it!! He says he won’t eat it if I’m not eating it…So unless I cave, we’re going to be sitting there staring at a big pile of ooey gooey goodness and denying ourselves the pleasure that is hot cheese on a plate…

XO
Kellie

52 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh wow! For a moment I thought the ooey gooey big pile was Craig. I totally missed the part that said goodness, so that now, leaves him out.
    I know Craig and a big ooey gooey pile is the perfect moniker for him.

  2. Holy Crap! I think one little word here warrants a message to you on myspace!

  3. Michael, what one word are we talking about? Your Holy Crap words or what?

  4. Kelly just relocated to the Dallas area from San antonio. not a nut,and would like to take you to the show. i am 6’0 200lb italain american. and the sales engineer for Brinks national accounts. so i can afford the tickets. lol. you have my email let me know. stay cool.

  5. Good luck! I need to lose some baby poundage, but my motivation is hiding with the Christmas decorations or something.

  6. I have been trying to get in shape to get in a swimsuit by this summer also. I’m trying to lose scare tissue from a surgery in the tummy area which is also hard to lose. But I found that the new biggest loser DVD’s that they have out now really works. After the 1st work out I could feel it working. It’s just an idea to try. I wish you the best of luck in your quest to lose weight. I know you can do it. Tho I think you look very pretty the way you are.

  7. Kellie have you tried the Jergens Natural Glow Light? I am fair also and I use this product and love it. Give it a shot before you go to Mexico and see what you think. 🙂

  8. Kellie, have you seen the show on TLC – “I can make you thin”? I think it comes on Sundays at 9. You should watch it.

  9. Kellie, Are you sure that 19% body fat is healthy for you? It sounds so low and thought that women needed to be around the 25% mark to be healthy. I think you need to talk to your doctor before proceding with this. As for losing 5% more it is ridiculous. Think about the message you are sending out to women.

  10. Ok…just start the diet the day after tomorrow….I made your Mommas mac and cheese last night so I know how yummy it is. Indulge tomorrow and diet on friday….Gotta keep that hot man happy!

  11. I have two words for you… Bikram Yoga! I would have to say its the greatest thing since your mama’s mac n cheese. It’s a 90 minute yoga class in 108 degrees…it’s pretty tough but you will definitely lose the weight! Here’s the website to the one I go to in Grapevine. http://www.bikramyogagrapevine.com/site/page/pg126.html

    GOOD LUCK!!!

  12. Hey Kellie!
    I’m wising you the best of luck! I am also in the process of trying to lose about 10-15lbs. I honestly think you guys should invite us listeners to send in our awful bathing suit pictures and then if we haven’t met our goal by the Friday before Memorial Day, you can post our pictures also. I’d be totally down! I could use the extra motivation.

    P.S. Thanks for making me want Mac and Cheese! *drooling*

  13. Hey Kellie – I have only been listening for a year now but I just love you guys. You get my day started with a smile!

    This morning when you said your personal trainer got your body fat at 19.7 my registered nurse brain said NUH UH! When I got to work I did the math and you are probably closer to 22.9%. There are many ways to measure body fat – calipers are one way. If you google around, you will find that the tables out there put you at a more reasonable number (which is still well within the normal range). When you lose ten pounds your body fat will be approximately 21.4% which is smack in the middle of awesome. The only accurate way to calculate your body fat is to be weighed under water. You guys decided to go with the pound watch instead of the body fat anyway which is probably a lot easier. Watch out though, when I run alot my weight goes UP and my BF% goes down. Muscle weighs more than fat.

    Your trainer is dead on with the six meals a day – I am a diabetes educator and my soapbox is that there is NO SUCH THING AS A DIABETIC DIET! Everyone should be eating six smaller (balanced) meals a day. Cut the fried stuff, your mama’s mac (sorry) and the sugar and you will probably not have to lift a finger to lose weight. Keep the main three meals to no more than 300 calories and the three snacks to 150 calories. That comes out to 1350 calories. Watch yourself – if you find yourself needing more at breakfast or a particular time of the day, adjust the numbers so you don’t end up cheating (staying within the 1350).

    If you eat this way, you will find that you feel like you are eating all of the time! Beware though, if you have been eating more than 3000 calories a day, you will feel HUNGRY at first. Hold on, your body will adjust back down to what should be normal for you. When you lose the weight you want, go back to 1800 calories for maintenance. If you are exercising more, watch your weight and if you continue to lose weight, add more calories (100 at a time) until you level off.

    Sorry to be so verbose! Good luck. I hate to see people doing wild and wacky things to lose weight when it really is SIMPLE. There is NO MAGIC cookbook out there that will do anything different than described above. Don’t waste your money!

    Take care,
    Deb

    p.s. MEASURE EVERTHING. I actually took measuring cups and measuring spoons to work. It is simply shocking to see how much we all overeat. It is amazing to see the difference between a real serving size and what I think is a serving size, LOL!

  14. 10 Minutes to Being Toned!!! Yes, 10 Minutes!

    I hope I got your attention, because this really does work. My gynecologist couldn’t believe how good my heart rate was and asked what I was doing for exercise. She said that I was doing the absolute best form of cardio. I jump rope for 10 minutes a day, 4 to 5 days a week; except, I don’t use the rope. I know that sounds dumb, but bear with me. I’m a klutz, and if I actually used the rope, I would spend more time untangling myself from the rope than jumping.

    I put on a really good sports bra, my work out shoes, and nothing else. I make sure to lock the door so no one walks in on me, then I blast my music and I jump, I use the same motion I would if I were holding a rope, except I don’t have the chance to hurt myself. You wil be amazed at the results. You won’t be able to jump the full 10 minutes at once. My goal is to jump one minute, stop and take a quick sip of water and then proceed.

    This is the quickest way to get rid of cellulite. Even when you run, your muscles are stretching out and away from you, but your fat is actually trapped behind the muscle, and that’s what creates the dimples. When you jump, everything is being compressed, including the fat behind the muscle. You can use a mini trampoline to lessen the impact on your knees, but I just do it in my carpeted bedroom; believe me, the sight of all of that bouncing keeps you motivated, AND the more stuff that’s bouncing, the quicker it’s getting toned. Try it, it’s working wonders for me.

  15. Good luck kelly! Even though you are beautiful right now, I understand wanting to get rid of that last bit. I also agree with starting tomorrow. Eat the mac and cheese with ya man tonight!

  16. EAT THE MAC AND CHEESE!!! Just follow Paul McKenna’s rules from I Can Make You Thin on TLC and you’ll be good! I have been doing it for a week and a half…eating whatever I want…and I have lost 5 pounds already (my goal is 20 by Memorial Day). So, indulge in some ooey gooey goodness!

  17. “It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” 
    ~unknown

    Don’t get me wrong, you do look great… but it is about “your” goals and how you feel inside & out.

    Don’t let others criticize you for wanting to feel better and look better in a bathing suit… there is no sin there…

    You are stronger than you give yourself credit.

  18. Kelly,For an athelete who is a woman – 19% body fat is healthy. If someone is just trying to be physically fit – the number is 20 – 24%. I think you are beautiful and don’t need to lose anymore weight.

  19. Wow, some people are so quick to judge..some of the comments on the previous blogs were a bit harsh.

    I think you’re gorgeous and incredibly thin, but I also think that if you wanna diet and excercise to tone up and make yourself feel better then that is what you should do. But I think you should let yourself have the Mac & cheese, and just eat healthy the rest of the day and excercise tomorrow, so you don’t feel guilty.

  20. Hey Kelly, Just letting you know you are not alone in this weight loss journey! I too am trying to lose 10 pounds by Memorial day. I figure if you can do it so can I! When I was going to sneak a bit of my kids jelly beans today, I thought ” Would Kelly eat those?” HA! I put them down. Anyway, I’ll be following your progress and hopefully come Memorial Day, we’ll both be 10 pounds lighter!

  21. Kelly,

    I know you’ll be able to lose those pesky 10 pounds in no time. You’re a superstar and don’t give yourself enough credit, girl! But, I’d like to be selfish for just a moment and ask a little favor. If you manage to come up with a menu of some kind based on your cutie trainer’s advice, would you please post it? I’m trying to lose some weight myself and I know the hardest thing for me is to figure out what the heck to eat! Stew Smith has some good ideas for small meals that I love. He’s a great, military hotshot with lots to say. Anyway, good luck Ms. Raspberry. But, you won’t need it!!

    Your fan,
    Piper Williams

  22. I’m 5 9, weigh 149, and am a red head – can completely identify with you. I run marathons for goodness sake and yet i’m not happy with my body image!! I’m interested in who your fitness/nutritional trainer is. I’m tired of living my life wanting to lose 15 pounds. Ready to get it over with but I know I can’t do it by myself because I suck at self control…my issues are all food choices, food amounts, and impulsivity. And I do love a glass of red wine!! Any how…if you wouldn’t mind passing along the contact information or website of your “Chad” that would be great. i wasn’t quite sure where to start.

  23. 1…you once again are trying to find happiness in the form of a measurement or number…this is a.)… stupid…and b.)…a HORRIBLE example to set for your daughter…2…why would you deny yourself & uncle dad the pleasures of a good home cooked meal?!?…maybe if your word of the day was MODERATION you may enjoy life a tad bit more…stop the anxiety which you are projecting onto Emma Kelly…your quest to get married for all the wrong reasons will cost you your health and the health and mental well being of your daughter in the years to come…i wish you nothing but Grace & Peace in your life…i hope this for all women whom have fallen victim to this self destructive cycle of stoopidity.

  24. You’re just upset because deep in your heart you know it’s true. And your rabid fans aren’t rushing to your defense or tearing me down because they agree as well.

  25. what’s a tankini?

  26. Mama say Mama want some apple sauce.

  27. Your mom’s mac and cheese is so awesome…
    I also made the corn to…It was all good..
    but I love the mac and cheese so much.. I never thought it could be so good….

    Weight challenge you can do it. I have faith in you.

  28. Kelly! I am also trying to loose weight. I started off at 5’3 at 155 pounds. My diet started JANUARY 1ST, 2008. So far I am down to 148. My diet consist of a bowl of special k in the morning, sandwich at lunch with one serving of string cheese, and either another bowl of special k or grilled chicken with green beans at night, before 6 or 7pm. Eat this everyday, ONE day out of the week you can have a cheat day (eat whatever you want). I go workout tuesday- thursday at the gym at 5 before you eat your supper, you loose your best carbs then. I use the elliptical religiously, the treadmill and the bike. I also enjoy toning my arms and legs with weights. Hope this helps to motivate you. It also helped me by going to the gym with a friend. Good luck to being pleasantly fit!

    Im still trying to acheive my goal!

  29. Leslie,
    How miserable it must be for you to go through life so incredibly bitter and unhappy that you must break someone else down for their choices. You have no idea what Kellie’s daily life is like. Who are you to judge someone who does the best that she can for herself and for her daughter. Shame on you. Take a longer look at yourself before focusing on someone who doesn’t deserve your nasty, rude comments.

  30. Love the title!!

  31. I love that your delicious word of the day is “Leslie”!

  32. I am not a hater, I love the show. But I have to say Kellie enough about your weight, get over it already. You are setting such a bad example for your daughter and all the other young girls who listen to you. I’m sure you probably don’t think you are but kids are smart and so impressionable. They pick up on so much more than you realize. This is how we end up with 5 and 6 year old girls with eating disorders and horrible body images.

  33. Eat the Mac & Cheese for crying out loud! Just don’t stuff yourself till you’re miserable. And, you are not fat. Maybe you just need to tone up a little.

  34. I agree with Eve, you should be more aware of the example you are setting, its terrible, learn to be happy in your own skin or at a minnimum keep it to your self.

  35. Can’t handle the truth?

  36. This is why we have 5 and 6 year olds wuth eating disorders and horrible body images.

  37. The way Kellie writes here and the way she talks on air about her baby girl makes one thing perfectly clear — she absolutely adores and loves her. So, Leslie, I think it’s really unfair what you said in the last post. And I’m not some “rabid fan,” and I’ve never even commented here before, but I think it’s really lame that you’re trying to shame or guilt her.

    ANYWAY. I could never follow that diet. That’s way too much counting, but best of luck!

  38. go Leslie

  39. Wow, I can’t imagine a person who takes so much personal pleasure from getting on to someone’s blog and being so nasty, but here you are, Leslie. Seriously, who peed in your Kool-aid? You have no idea how much time Kellie does or doesn’t spend with her daughter. For you to be presumptuous and act like you do just makes you sound silly, and, quite frankly, jealous.

    Kellie – if you don’t like the way your body looks, then by all means do something to change it. The possibility of the pictures being posted will certainly be a source of motivation. I know that you get bombarded with tons of people telling you that all of this is unnecessary and that you don’t need to lose weight, and that must be frustrating. I think you look wonderful, but I and all other commenters don’t look at your body naked every day – you do. If you don’t like something, you have every right to want to change it for the better. Just thought I’d offer my two cents.

  40. Leslie,

    You are a worthless piece of crap and if you fell off the face of the Earth no one would care. How is that for a rabid fan rushing to Kellie’s rescue? Just because your mother didn’t love you (who would) doesn’t mean that other mother’s don’t love their children.
    Stay off Kellie’s page if you have nothing but negativity!!!!

    PS. I also defended Kellie on the previous blog, just a little late in getting to the site. Check it out if you like. I hope it makes your day just like you made Kellie’s.

  41. Simma down girls, it will be alright.

  42. Kellie, just be a little more aware of the example you are setting for your daughter as well as young girls who may be listening. This is why we have 5 and 6 year old girls with eating disorders and horrible body images.

  43. Kellie,
    Please try to be a better role model for your daugther and young female listeners. Influences like yourself is why we have 5 and 6 year old girls with eating disorders and horrible body images.

  44. So I read this blog on your myspace, and had to come over here and check out the comments! And OMG seriously mean people over here!

    Blah!

    And Darci must have been drunk and posted as EVE, and then forgot and posted again as Darci later, and said the same damn thing again, word for word!

    Stupid drunk people. Such a bad example for all the children out there! I am horrified!

  45. Why are there so many haters out there? Why does it matter to anyone else if you feel the need to lose 10 pounds? It is your body and your life! How dare someone say that you are affecting your child! Especially a man for that matter. How the heck does he know what it is like to be a single mom and do everything for your child on your own! You write these daily to entertain all of us and share things with complete strangers. You shouldn’t be getting judged for how you feel and what you do. Seriously…you people out there that have nothing better to do than judge this woman needs to take a look at themselves and re-evaluate your own life!!!! The problem lies within yourself! Stop taking it out on Kellie!!!

  46. I just don’t get it. If you don’t like what Kellie writes, then why read it? Why do you feel the need to read it and then post ugly negative comments? Get a life, people.

  47. I seriously doubt that 5 & 6 year olds are listening to this show.

  48. Hi – good luck Kellie – Could you share your grocery list with us? I also am trying to lose those 10 stupid pounds and be healthy! Thanks!

  49. Shelly….that cracks me up. That is SO what I was thinking when I read all these comments. LMAO!

    Kelly…I’m a very small framed girl on which 130 pounds looks awful. So I can empathize with you on getting verbally beat to hell and back when you say you want to lose about 10 pounds. I think this is YOUR blog and you can talk about whatever you want…it’s not like you sit down with Emma Kelley and say “Now, mommy has to lose 10 pounds so she can be thin and beautiful and men will love me.” Give me a break, people!

  50. Okay… so I missed the show… how did you get your body fat %? Because I am 23% body fat and I’m 5’2″ 110lbs. I was once 19% body fat and that was when I was 105lbs! I work out pretty regularly, so I’m curious if I’m just doing my body fat % incorrectly? I’m not saying you are fat or anything… I think you look great, but I’m just curious how someone who thinks they are flabby has a lower body fat % and I think I look fine!

  51. wow !!! kelly looks really old… hehehe

  52. Kellie,
    I really hope you don’t read these comments. And if you do I can definitely see why you need a Wellness Coach. LOL. Some people can be brutal. I thought I had anger issues when I lose my temper and get upset. But wow! Who actively seeks out a stranger and spews venom? Why is everyone judging Kellie so harshly? So, she wants to lose weight and look and feel good about herself? Really, is that SO unbelievably evil? So, she wants a man to share her life with? How dare she! LOL. So, she works instead of spending every second with her child? Someone call CPS! She’s doing the best she can with what life has dealt her. That’s the best that we all can do.
    Oh, and 5 & 6 yr old have eating disorders because of people like Kellie? Wow, that one was a stretch! Do kids that young even listen to the show? They must have a great attention span! And we all know poor Emma Kelly is being judged right now about how chubby her cheeks are! (SO adorable btw) Yes Kellie talks about her weight on the air, and yes she generalizes and says the majority of women feel the way she does…uh, did you ever think that she’s part of a radio show of mostly men who want a woman’s viewpoint (besides Kidd’s) and she is forced to generalize? Why is that so bad? Because you’re a women and you don’t think the way she does…Congratulations!!! Please come on here and spew your hatred for her. Because had you not stated that fact I would have taken Kellie’s word as gospel. I, thankfully, don’t have her same worries about men & weight but until you came along and said you didn’t either I was going to go ahead and jump on the bandwagon! LOL.
    These comments are hilarious. The people who come on here and spit venom are so oblivious to the world around them! Everyone has a viewpoint and yes, I know it’s your opinion but this isn’t world news you’re commenting on. This is some stranger’s life. This is hateful comments towards one person. She has feelings just like you do (at least, I think you do). You aren’t shaping the world by commenting on here just like Kellie isn’t supporting eating disorders by sharing her blog. So, why not keep it civil and provide support. No one’s asking you to kiss her ass, just be constructive with your criticism. Before you submit your comment stop and think…if you’re daughter/mother/sister or even you yourself were sharing a diary entry with a large audience…is this the kind of comment that would help you or hurt you? It’s not about being all sunshine and flowers, it’s about common courtesy. I wish you and Emma Kelly all the best, Kellie! Take care!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

