My Mama’s Meatloaf

March 14, 2008 at 12:40 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 83 Comments

While he has yet to make it for me, Uncle Daddy swears his mama’s meatloaf is the best EVER. But he won’t divulge the recipe. I am a far more generous spirit when it comes to matters of the stomach, so here is MY mama’s recipe for meatloaf:

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk

2/3 cup finely crushed saltines

1/2 cup chopped onions

1 tsp. salt

pepper

1 1/2 lbs. ground beef

1 cup ketchup (Heinz is the best)

1/2 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 tsp. worcestershire sauce

In a large bowl, beat the eggs with a fork. Add milk, saltines, onion, salt and pepper. Add ground beef and mix well. Shape into a loaf and place in a shallow, ungreased baking pan. Combine ketchup, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce and spoon 3/4 of this over the meatloaf. Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes until no pink remains. Drain the pan. Let stand 10 minutes before slicing. Serve with the remaining sauce.

83 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. have you heard that Meatloaf has changed his name?…he’s now ‘The Artist formerly known as Mince’

  2. I’m so glad you put this on here! My husband has been begging me to make him some meatloaf, but I’ve not been able to find a simple, yummy sounding one yet. So thanks!! My husband thanks you too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks Kellie. I think meatloaf and mac & cheese sounds pretty darn good!

  4. hey craig, are you still in hell?
    yum, yum, thanks again kellie…..glad you are one who shares…..

  5. Sounds good…..will have to try this…I was just on your myspace and saw a pic of Uncle Daddy……I commented on the pic there but let me do it again…..dang girl he’s yummy! Good job!

  6. HELL – it’s everywhere Craig is

  7. why you should not eat MEATloaf:
    http://www.drheise.com/beef.htm

  8. I substitute the messy cracker crumbs for the italian breadcrumbs out of the can. I think it gives it even more flavor. Have a nice weekend C and keep your head up!!

  9. THANK YOU so much for the meatloaf recipe. I have looked for one in some of my Nanny’s recipe books she gave me through the years(she has since passed away), but this one sounds perfect. I am going to make it this sunday for my family along with that fabulous mac n cheese recipe. I can’t wait!!! I can’t wait to see more great recipes from your mom. If she has a good corn casserole recipe, I would love it.
    Thanks again for sharing!!!

  10. Ohhhh thanks for the recipe. Keep them recipes comming. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks

  11. mexican corn casserole = muy tasteee
    http://www.toomanychefs.net/archives/001853.php

  12. Craig,
    I have tried to have patience and to ignore you idoitic posts, but alas I can do it no more. Will you please shut up? If you want to change the world, please go do it somewhere else. The rest of us visit this website for enjoyment, and sadly, no one gets enjoyment out of you.

  13. a catchy song about meat:

  14. candycane…i do not want to change the world…it is a bad and horrible place…Christ who walked the earth 2000+ years ago could not change the dark heart of man…i do not even deny you the right to want me to leave when you have NEVER met me…i am baffled that you would make such a childish request…i hope that if the Lord has Blessed you with a child, you pass not on this horrible behavior…and i hope no one treats your child with such cold and cruel indifference.

  15. meatloaf tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohJwD8qC9Oo

  16. Craig, the world is not a bad, horrible place, a select, few people are bad and horrible. There are good, wonderful things and good, wonderful people in the world. Maybe you would be alot happier if you tried to see the good in life, instead of living your life beratting everyone else. No one wants to be a miserable as you appear to be.

  17. the world tis a horrible place…i have seen destruction beyond your imagine…how can we condemn children who kill when our own government allows the slaughter of the unborn???…we allow our leaders to blatantly lie under oath and allow ceo’s to commit corporate terrorism which has done more economic damage than 911!!!…our leaders and society are more concerned with the use of steroids in a stoopid game of baseball or following the spiraling downfall of Britney Spears than the cost of gas or the inevitable economic collapse of the middle class…that all being said…i find shelter and comfort here…in this forum…i shall not let your words sully my happy place.
    *small tear forms & falls*

  18. Yikes it’s another lovefest on the blog…

    Since we are trading recipes, does anyone know how to cook a corned beef? Mine is still frozen, crockpot?? Do you cook it like a regular roast with carrots and potatoe? Thanks

  19. cornucopia of corned beef knowledge:
    http://www.kitchenproject.com/history/CornedBeef.htm#ways

  20. corned beef & big al?!?

  21. The real problem is the people who get craig riled up. I love reading his posts until someone sends him on a rant.
    If you don’t want to be offended by Craig…here’s a thought! Don’t read his posts…they are clearly identified, look where it says comment by craig, more than likely it was left by craig, then you don’t have to read it. Seems simple to me, but I didn’t jest get off the pole!

    Thanks for the meatloaf, it’s always nice to share!!! Keep on being fierce!!

  22. Thank you for recipe for the macaroni and cheese! I am going to make it tomorrow, wish I could make it right now! Tell your mama thanks too, mine makes everything with low fat whatever all the time now…nothing tastes the same. You’re fabulous!

  23. I have to agree with candycane. Craig, enough already. I usually just skip the entries when I see the name “Craig”, as I’m sure many of us do.
    But if you feel the need to keep posting go ahead…

  24. sounds like craig has too much time on his hands..

  25. I’m with you Kelly. When I see Craig’s name, I just “fast forward”. Hopefully he will go away soon and we can have a normal blog. *in my head, never going to happen* sigh

  26. Some of Craig’s comments have bugged me plenty and I have told him so. However, I feel like I got a little glimpse of what Craig’s all about recently and I felt bad for him and felt really bad that I was being so mean. I know some of his stuff is off the wall sometimes and gets a little excessive but he has just the same right to post on here as anybody else and he’s not going to leave because he IS having fun. We tell our kid’s not to bully and as grown-ups I think I personally have been guilty of doing that via cyberspace to “Craig”. Anyway, I know I will be less than popular for my opinion but he’s just trying to participate in a slightly different way than what we all feel comfortable with for some reason. If I don’t like it then I don’t have to read it. It doesn’t give me the right to belittle and sling really hateful things his way. Just my opinion. Craig, put my check in the mail….. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Laura…platonically of course:

    *insert smiley face emoticon*

  28. Sherry…a lesson for you:

  29. I made the macaroni and cheese recipe and got mixed reviews. My daughter, who hates mac n cheese normally, said it was ok. My husband said it was good, but lacked pizazz. And I blame myself for looking at the ingredients and not jazzing it up myself by using extra sharp cheddar and maybe some dijon mustard, horseradish, or even some tabasco or green chiles. Definitely loved the consistency and ease of the recipe.

  30. No Way…that is MY mom’s receipe for meatloaf…well, aside from the brown sugar…and yes Kellie, it definetely IS the best!

  31. Um, I have never met a meatloaf I like accept mine but, I will give this a try…

  32. I check in regularly to witness Craig’s antics and the idiot replies. Kelly, thanks for the recipes.

  33. “If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn’t thinking.”
    – General George Patton Jr

  34. Boiled Peanuts! MMM=- My mother is from Savannah, Georgia and I love them. You can find them at Central Market in aisle 10. I used to work there and they will order them for you! Sorry I did not get this to you by Friday ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But in the future….

  35. OMG…Happy St. Pat’s Day…*insert shamrock* & Craig…Yes big girls do cry…if you had a girl, YOU would know.

  36. sherry…my girl is petite…and she giggles.

  37. Craig…*insert weight scale* 105 and I do giggle at times when I want to. Picture please? I’m sure this will be a picture from the “internet”…peace out…!

  38. craig will continue to ruin everything. LETS WORK AS A TEAM….and IGNORE HIM! he is a big ol’loser weirdo….

  39. Hey everyone…KKITM mgmt. left me in charge of the place whilst they are away!!!

  40. Okay, I don’t get to listen as much as I used to and I missed something. Were did the name “Uncle Daddy” come from???

  41. hey craig, I just returned from your great city of san antonio… had a wonderful time…
    laura, you are sooo right…..
    okay Kellie, what’s our next recipe going to be?….something sweet?????

  42. HEY, where are all the healthy type recipes,lol!

  43. Craig’s “girl” is petite and she giggles?!?!
    Is that what he’s calling it?
    Wah ha ha ha ha ha ha…….

  44. indy…San Antonio is the singularly GREATEST city on the earth…*sans the city council*…did you travel on IH-10???…if you did…i bet you saw some of my photographic work!!!

  45. Cindy…*oops*…still drunk from last nights festivities.

  46. yep….
    spent a lot of time on 410 and nacogdoches…was out at bulverde.
    went to my uncle’s 90th birthday celebration at fort sam houston.
    never got down to the river walk. been there numerous times and it’s always fun.
    aha.. so tell me… maybe I was using your photography as a landmark….

  47. 410 & nacogdoches???…i bet the traffic was fun…if you passed vance jackson, you DID see my work!!!

  48. as a duly appointed watcher of the forum…*pending approval by the fda*…i am citing big tuna for horrible comeback and inability to let things go…5 demerits.

  49. “sportsman” 0
    fish with sword 1
    http://www.dumpalink.com/videos/Marlin_stabbing-lcdk.html

  50. in new york love is blind:
    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,338769,00.html
    yet another story of our elected officials who is guilty of dereliction of duty…yet another reason why only land owners should have the right to vote…ny…home of the big apple and men with no honor.

  51. Thanks, Kellie! I made the meatloaf, and it was WONDERFUL. I especially liked the sauce. I am convinced that I could like meatloaf, but every recipe I have previously tried has tasted awful. This one is great!

  52. hmm….vance jackson does not sound familiar…
    would vance jackson come before or after the nacogdoches exit?….The traffic was not bad at all….just the road construction…so are you going to give me a clue as to what I might have seen???

  53. vance jackson…@ nsco & 410…head towards airport…pass airport…pass north star mall…*with the HUGE boots…vance jackson is past that B4 I10…if you saw a billboard 4 Rippleys or a Japanese steak house…that is my work.

  54. Craig, I did go to the North Star Mall…and went passed the mall going out to Bulverde, but I was busy following someone, so I didn’t take time to look at the billboards.. I do remember seeing some advertisements for Japanese food… but they were not where u are describing… So, it looks like I missed your work… but, I will be sure to check it out next time. Is it raining there now? We are getting a lot here…
    We did have a little excitement.. 3 gun shots were fired in the parking lot of our hotel late one night…

  55. gun shots???…did you stay on the east side???…i work with all the major hotels…i can “hook” ya up with one that has better security…i am still north of the mason dixon line on assignment…OH…i shot for the snake farm on 35 as well!!!

  56. Kellie, should let you know that I actually made meatloaf using your Mom’s recipe and it was DELICIOUS! Hope you post more of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  57. Kellie,
    Thank you so much for an easy recipe that tastes great. My family really enjoyed it!

  58. lol………we intentionally stayed near the nacogdoches exit to be close to everything we had to attend….the hotel did have a security entrance into the parking lot….. it was the courtyard by marriott..I have a cousin who has a store there called bejewel…lol.. maybe you shot for it too….
    no kidding… u shot for the snake farm!
    how did that go?….
    so how’s the weather north of the mason dixon line?

  59. Cindy and CRAIG…get eachother’s email and QUIT wasting space on Kelly’s blog. do you think she cares about this?

  60. kim…if we have to listen about her poop schedule, she will not be bothered by the social dialog amongst two of her fans.

  61. lol.. craig, how many times have you been told to get someone’s email?……I think I’ve lost count.
    Kim, I think Kellie’s smart enough to skip over it..

  62. cindy…i ised to live in the “09”…moved to the dominion…better class of uppity.

  63. can’t we all just eat cheese and be happy?

  64. you’ve what???

    why don’t we eat the peppered corn….

  65. warning…be sure to chew your corn VERY well!!!

  66. Alesha…cheese binds me up BAD.

  67. u know there are a lot of people who would like to see you “binded” up…..

  68. I can assure you that Craig does not live in the Dominion. My brother lives there, you do not. If you really wanted to sound like you have money, the Dominion is for older people and boring doctors (my brother)! ha ha. You should have lied and said you live at Anaqua Springs or Cordillera Ranch.

  69. I think Craig was talking about living in the Star Trek universe called the Dominion.

  70. hmmmm.. but Anaqua Springs does look nice…..

  71. Cindy…i think the “tiny minnow” likes me…hehehehe

  72. Craig, you might be right……
    I will have to agree, big tuna does read every word you write…..
    Although, it doesn’t seem like big tuna thinks too much of his/her “boring doctor” brother…could it be jealousy that he lives in the Big Dominion?
    hey, big tuna would you happen to have a good tuna casserole recipe?

  73. david robinson lives two streets down from me…i thought i saw bt cutting his lawn.

  74. and here’s to you Mrs. Robinson…..

    how far are you from George Strait?

  75. u luk old kelly.. shannon is hot..

  76. Maybe, BT’s brother lives near George Strait…

  77. I know he lives in the Dominion….

  78. Tommy, if you think Kellie looks old then you don’t need to be on here. You must be under 16.
    Also, if you think Shannon is hot, then not only are you a minor, but you must be deaf too.
    By the looks of your spelling, you should be in spelling class right now instead of posting on an adult blog. Of course, I’m sure that’s how all 16 year olds write “luk”….to be cool…..
    If shannons so hot, what are you doing here??????

  79. 80!

  80. Big Tuna! Help! Stop the maddness! Cindy and Craig need to get a room…somewhere…anywhere…but here…”insert smiley face when they eventually leave” Oh never going to happen…”sigh”.

  81. Kellie.. I listen every morning im from New Orleans and i just love the way yall talk about it on the show like its the greatest place on earth but hey its HOME!! anyway i got this recipie on here and OMG i cant cook for anything but i followed these directions and got all the ingrediants and OMG it was AWESOME my husband and 3 year old LOVED it as did I.. THANK YOU THANK YOU put up some more things like that like roast or sumthin easy i c cook as a meal!!! i love the hosw and you are my inspration for alot of things and i just want you to know that!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

