delicious word of the day — worcestershire

March 13, 2008 at 3:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 32 Comments

Hey, if ya’ll want more of my mama’s recipes, I am happy to oblige. Yes, if you eat everything she makes, you will develop the same hate for your bathroom scale that I have lived with these many years. But food is love, people. Food is love. And if you manage to add in a stick of butter somewhere, well that’s just ecstasy.  I’ll be honest, I’m not a cook. I can follow a recipe, but I just don’t want to. But I still have every intention of making that macaroni and cheese for Uncle Daddy. However, I know once I do that, he’ll be so bloated up that he won’t feel like kissing on me. And I’m still digging the kissing parts too much to load him up on carbs and cheese right now! But I’ll give in eventually. You gotta make them think you’ve got SOME domestic skills.

My friend Christy and I went for a ridiculously long walk today on this jogging/biking/rollerblading/walking trail. Seriously, and I say this in all serious seriousness, every single girl should get her butt out there on the trail immediately. I have never in my life seen so many drop-dead gorgeous men in one place, just passing us by, one after another! I don’t know what you’re supposed to do to actually get them to stop mid-run and talk to you, but that’s your problem. I’m just telling you where to find them! I told Christy I should print up a T-shirt that says “I know I’m pushing a baby stroller, but…” Yeah, I’m thinking if you’re cruising the jogging path to meet single guys, single moms might want to find a babysitter for the afternoon.  

Anyway, I’ll peruse the book full of recipes Mama gave me and I’ll have something good for you soon. Maybe I’ll give you the meatloaf next, since I had a request for that. Oh! And if she hasn’t given me her potato salad recipe, I’ll get that one, too!!

XO
Kellie

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love potato salad. Definitely make sure you put that one up.

  2. yum…. Keep them coming…… meatloaf, potato salad…..and any good desserts….but who is this uncle daddy?…hmmm….

  3. I think if you try really hard you can figure out who Uncle Daddy is.
    Interesting literature concerning the spiritual path you’ve embarked on. I am curious though, does the enlightening concern the delving within or the seeking of something greater and there is a difference between spiritual and religion. I am just curious as to your views because, different sites, can also be illuminating as well as confusing.

  4. please elaborate on the kissing part(s).

  5. “I know I’m pushing a baby stroller, but…”
    a…i do kegal exercises!!!
    b…i know how to PAMPER
    c…my other kids are already in high school

  6. Hey Kelli- Have you seen The Pioneer Woman Cooks blog? Your mac and cheese totally reminds me of her. Except she adds pictures. But she’s funny, just like you. 🙂 Check her out at http://thepioneerwomancooks.com.

  7. Is there a picture of Uncle Daddy anywhere on the site?

  8. uncle daddy???

  9. You guys should make a cookbook “Kellie’s Mama’s Southern Cookin”. I’D BUY IT!!

    I love to cook and I have a huge collection of cookbooks.

  10. Or, make a cookbook and have lots of women contribute their favorite recipes of their mothers. You can call it “Why I Have to Go On a Broth Diet After I Visit My Mama Recipes.” 🙂

  11. Maybe you could put your mama’s recipes into a Kid’s Kidds Cookbook or something and try to sell them for Kid’s Kidds. It’s just an idea.

  12. “I know I’m pushing a baby stroller, but…”
    d…my biological clock does not tick anymore
    e…but my recent augmentation will distract you
    f…my other other car is a monster truck

  13. Craig, I promised myself to just ignore you but you have once again been so offensive and I respectfully ask that you go create your own blog. Honestly do you really wonder why people write negative things about you on the blog? Bulimia is really funny. Think about the blog you are on. Kellie has admitted she struggled with that in the past. You write weird and disgusting comments ALL DAY LONG….I’m sorry but have you noticed for the most part YOU are the only one that writes 50 comments a day on the blog?? Why do you do it?? Do you not think there is something wrong with it? Just wondering why???

  14. I agree wholeheartedly with Laura about Craig. Although I believe it is Shannon who has struggled with bulimia in the past, Kellie has plenty of food issues of her own, which she is dealing with. But the jokes about bulimia are so uncalled for – some people have no concept of what should and should not be said in a public forum. While I know that Craig posted that comment in jest, given the fact that alot of people (esp. women) who read this blog and can identify with Kellie do so because of eating issues of their own, his comment is completely inappropriate. Apparently he’s never heard of empathy.

  15. laura…i am unresolved bulimic…i binge but do not purge…that being said…i am appalled at the rate of eating disorders that have now even began to take hold of even elementary school age girls…tis my belief that this issue is a product of madison avenue & is perpetuated by the vicious cattiness of women…want to end eating disorders???…stop reading/publishing cosmo/vogue/vanity fair/teen people etc…whilst you may find my humor repulsive, it is indeed intertwined with sound advice & wisdom.

  16. I don’t know if you are trying to be funny or not but if you really struggle with food issues then I am sorry for you. That would be a horrible cross to bear and I can’t believe I am saying this, but I agree for the most part with your comment about the way magazines, etc. promote unhealthly body image issues for young girls. Just try and be little less visual and gross out with your humor, o.k.?? Thx!

  17. Laura…you are far more graceful and tactful than others…i shall be more considerate before commenting on the very sensitive subject that NEEDS to be addressed…as sad as that is…tis just as sad that in a world that seeks “equality”…making fun of fat people is the only “acceptable” form of prejudice.
    *i have seen the enemy, and the enemy is us*
    Pogo

  18. Nikki,
    If you go on Kellie’s myspace and click on pics, he’s in the friends album.
    Craig, go play with your marbles…Much more productive.

  19. tasty meatloaf:
    http://www.marions-kochbuch.com/recipe/0822.htm

  20. musical meatloaf:

  21. WE NEED A RECIPE FOR SQUASH CASSEROLE!!!!!!!
    SQUASH CASSEROLE!!! sQUASH CASSEROLE!!!


  22. Ingredients

    4 pounds yellow squash, sliced
    4 tablespoons butter or margarine, divided
    1 large sweet onion, finely chopped
    2 garlic cloves, minced
    2 1/2 cups soft breadcrumbs, divided
    1 1/4 cups shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
    1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Cheddar cheese
    1/2 cup chopped fresh chives
    1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
    1 (8-ounce) container sour cream
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
    2 large eggs, lightly beaten
    1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
    Preparation
    Cook squash in boiling water to cover in a large skillet 8 to 10 minutes or just until tender. Drain well; gently press between paper towels.

    Melt 2 tablespoons butter in skillet over medium-high heat; add onion and garlic, and sauté 5 to 6 minutes or until tender. Remove skillet from heat; stir in squash, 1 cup breadcrumbs, 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, and next 7 ingredients. Spoon into a lightly greased 13- x 9-inch baking dish.

    Melt remaining 2 tablespoons butter. Stir together melted butter, remaining 1 1/2 cups soft breadcrumbs, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, and garlic salt. Sprinkle mixture evenly over top of casserole.

    Bake at 350° for 35 to 40 minutes or until set.

  23. Please keep the recipes coming! Thanks!!!

  24. worcestershire facts:
    http://homecooking.about.com/od/howtocookwithcondiments/a/worcestersauce.htm

  25. k’ – maybe I’m not listening enough in the mornings – but who is Uncle daddy??? Cuz in one paragraph it kinda sounds like it might be a new boyfriend but in the next paragraph you’re talking about picking up guys on the walking trail???

  26. DFW…its called a back up plan.

  27. Congratulation! both of your blog, and this post are high ranked in
    “The top blogs of the day” report

  28. Ha ha….Craig has no marbles to play with :0)
    BRAINLESS – Craig
    BALL-LESS – Craig

  29. big tuna with Paris Hilton…*real pix*

  30. big tuna…YOU MADE ME LAUGH OUT LOUD! Seriously…

  31. That’s what She said.

  32. this is jj jazzy craig coming to you “live”…this next song goes out to sherry:


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

