delicious word of the day — “epidural”

February 8, 2008 at 3:39 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 40 Comments

Yes, the Bahamas was paradise and yes, it was a blessing to go there but I am SO happy to be home!! We got in too late Wednesday night for me to see Emma Kelly, so I raced home as quickly as I could after work today and just loved on her and slobbered on her and hugged on her and she didn’t seem to be the least bit annoyed by it. She was smiling as big as her face could handle it and kept patting my shoulders saying “My mommy…MY mommy!” I am just so in love with her.

And speaking of new mommy love…….Dianthe had her baby today and IT’S A GIRL! We ALL thought she was going to have a boy, so this was a bit of a shock. She and baby daddy Kelley are still hashing it out over the name. I THINK they’ve settled on something, but  I’ll let her announce that before I open my big mouth here. But MAN, Dianthe looks great! She did it WITHOUT AN EPIDURAL, too! And she doesn’t even have that fun little button you push every 30 minutes to pump warm, fuzzy painkillers through your veins. She’s my HERO! And the baby is SO gorgeous. Flawless skin. Sweet little face. Beautiful black hair. A precious cry. Just deliciousness all swaddled up in a pink bow!

I have decided to give up something for Lent this year. I’ve never done it before, mainly because I’m not Catholic. And since I’m not Catholic, I even got started an entire day late.  I would’ve given up carnal pleasures, but those haven’t exactly been presenting themselves to me lately, so giving them up wouldn’t actually be that much of a sacrifice –it would be more like any random Thursday. So I decided to give up white flour and sugar instead. Now, I realize I could just look at this as another diet, but I’m going to try to see if I can use my resistance of temptation to teach me some spiritual lesson. Either that or I’m going to fail miserably.  And if that happens, one Catholic acquaintance told me I would then burn in hell. I think he was kidding, but I’m not Catholic anyway so I don’t think the rule applies to me. And either way, I’m just going to try really, really hard. I did experience temptation today, but I thankfully resisted. No spiritual lesson learned yet, but I’m sure it’s coming.

I’m going to go read some more of Eat, Pray, Love before I go to bed. I’m almost through the second part — the part where she’s learning how to meditate in India. I read most of this section on the flight from the Bahamas back to Miami. Tears were involuntarily leaping from my eyes and spilling down my face.  Reading her words is like hearing myself speak. It’s very unnerving and upsetting and cathartic. I believe this book is where I’m going to learn my spiritual lesson, and hopefully ix-naying the white flour and sugar will help with that just a little.

XO
Kellie

40 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The plane trip sounded like penance enough, Kellie! But after 3 weeks on the no sugar/white flour diet you will probably lose so much weight that you’ll wonder why you never did it before.

    Thanks for announcing Baby-Girl Dianthe/Kelley! Was dying to find out. She’s gorgeous and Dianthe and Kelley look so happy.

  2. Normally not a commenter, just lurk, but can I just say you are amazing!!! YOUR MY FAV!!!! Thanks for announcing the results of Dianthe and Kelley’s day. Welcome to baby Spike!!!She’s gorgeous

  3. I loved that book too. Best wishes on your journey (spiritual enlightment, not the Bahamas)

  4. i am Jewish…but i am also a psychology major…try giving up your anxieties…*offered as a serious alternative*…i also offer warnings against eastern philosophies and “feel good” anecdotal books for TRUE spiritual health…trust me…i know…remember…WE are the reason for your Easter holiday.

  5. maybe we can have a name the baby contest?!?

  6. i would not give any credence to your catholic acquaintance…their leader is an ex nazi…*true undebatable fact*

  7. i am going to give up the internet for lent.

  8. wait…im not catholic…nevermind…*breathes a sigh O relief*

  9. OMG – thank you Kellie. Love those pictures. Thanks for sharing the news with us. How big was the baby? Diamond Earrings big?

  10. I loved that book too. I don’t care what anyone else says about “philosophical” books. It was a great story. It is easy to feel beat down by relationship issues. It was nice to read about a different perspective and way of thinking about these struggles.

  11. Thanks for the baby news, I’ve been anxious to hear whether she had a boy or girl! And the pics are great!

    Off the subject – Have you ever heard of the “Confessions of a Pioneer Woman” blog? (thepioneerwoman.com) You should check it out, she is so funny and such a good writer, and photographer and for some reason she reminds me of you!
    I love you both!

    I read your blog every morning and you always make me smile – so thanks!

  12. Just saw the picture of you with Dianthe’s gorgeous baby girl. You are BEAUTIFUL!!! Your hair looks great, your skin makes me jealous, and you just look like you’re beaming. Whatever you’re doing… KEEP IT UP! You really, really look fantastic!
    -Dorinda (but not the one lucky enough to travel with you all to the Bahamas.) 😦

  13. Kellie,

    Whenever I hear of someone who’s religion does not celebrate Lent but decides to participate in it, I question their motives because all too often it seem people use Lent as an excuse for a diet. Granted, a lot of Catholics are also guilty of doing this, but I encourage you to learn the real lesson behind Lentil season and in doing so you will learn that God doesn’t care too much if you give up flour and sugar. Rather, Lent is a period of sober reflection, self-examination, and spiritual redirection, a time to rededicate yourself to God and the church. And if you are truly going to participate in Lent correctly, then you also need to give up meat on Fridays.

  14. Can’t believe you like that book. I respect the fact you do, millions of people apparently like it considering how much it has sold. I could never get past the feeling that it was written by the biggest spoiled whiney brat I had ever heard. I would have appreciated all of the “spiritual” sides of that book much more if I hadn’t developed such a dislike for the writer from the very start of the book.

  15. i gave up white flour and sweets AND white rice for lent last year. that was HARD. you never realize how much you eat regularly that involves that stuff…but it’s practically everything. but thankfully everything tastes pretty good on a whole grain english muffin. esp some buttery spread with some cinnamon.
    good luck!

  16. Kelley I just have to say you beautiful you are! I understand the weight issues, I have them to. But you are gorgeous and you are not fat at all not even slightly overweight! Be kind to yourself!!

  17. Craig is correct, the caveat associated with looking inward is that we might not like what we see. It isn’t metanoia that is morose, maudlin and outright self-flagellating; it’s the horrible realization of what selfish fools we’ve been up to that point. This is why tradition encompasses things like the Jesus Prayer/centering prayer, etc. to steady the mind and open the heart, diet to calm the body, Eucharist for, well, communion, and confession for when we start coming to grips with how we run to our favorite addictions instead of facing the stark truth head on. Once we allow Light to enter, then the cobwebs and skeletons become visible. Tradition shows us a way to both let the Light in as well as how to not get all twisted when the implications become clear.

  18. *wonders how many people have to look up the word “metanoia”*

  19. *wonders why Julie’s comments were deleted!?!*

  20. *gives up beer before noon for lent*

  21. angela…mein kampf was inspirational to many as well…the point is, is to question the message behind the message as well as the messenger.

  22. Kellie, I am reading that book too and just got done with my divorce…I feel ya on it! Her feelings were exactly the feelings I have been having without realizing that is what I was feeling. I’m on the India part too and this whole book has made me feel better in some ways. I am glad you like it too!

    Have a great weekend!

  23. 1ше шы вшттук ешьу рук шт еру ащкьук ГЫЫКб ыщмшуе!

  24. oh Craig is speaking in tongues. 😉

    Awww Kellie, Emma Kellie is so cute saying her little phrase like that. I bet your heart melted a little every time she said it. I can’t imagine not falling in love with her over and over again.
    One quick question did you pick up a gift for Emma Kellie while you were in the Bahamas?

  25. That was a great book. I preferred the Eat and Love sections, but the Pray section was good, too.

  26. Craig, what incredible wisdom you have shared with us in Hebrew that we cannot understand! Thanks!

    Kellie, you have to seek the truth, and I trust you will find it. Truth is spoken in different ways to different people. I am proud of you and think you are normal and your feelings are valid. May you find Peace!

  27. a touching story.

    In 1986, Mark Murray was on holiday in Kenya after graduating from Depaul University. On a hike through the bush, he came across a young bull elephant standing with one leg raised in the air. The Elephant seemed distressed, so Murray approached it very carefully.

    He got down on one knee and inspected the elephant’s foot and found a large piece of wood deeply embedded in it. As carefully and as gently as he could, Murray worked the wood out with his hunting knife, after which the elephant gingerly put down its foot.

    The elephant turned to face the man, and with a rather curious look on its face, stared at him for several tense moments. Murray stood frozen, thinking of nothing else but being trampled. Eventually the elephant trumpeted loudly, turned, and walked away.

    Murray never forgot that elephant or the events of that day.

    Twenty years later, he was walking through the Chicago Zoo with his teenage son. As they approached the elephant enclosure, one of the creatures turned and walked over to near where Murray and his son Tom were standing.

    The large bull elephant stared at Murray, lifted its front foot off the ground and then put it down. The elephant did that several times then trumpeted loudly, all the while staring at the man.

    Remembering the encounter in 1986, Murray couldn’t help but wonder if this was the same elephant.

    He summoned up his courage, climbed over the railing and made his way into the enclosure. He walked right up to the elephant and stared back in wonder. The elephant trumpeted again, wrapped its trunk around one of Murray’s legs and slammed him against the railing, killing him instantly.

    Probably wasn’t the same elephant.

  28. I am so glad you are reading the book – I thought of you often when I read it. I hope it helps you see more clearly the beautiful person you are inside and out.

  29. have sad friend???…cheer them up with this:
    http://www.pillsbury.com/AALL/dancebuilder.aspx

  30. it is a wonderful world.
    http://staten-island-new-york-real-estate.com/Hand_Shadow_Show.html

  31. hints from a domestic viking.
    1. Stuff a miniature marshmallow in the bottom of a sugar cone to prevent ice cream drips.

    2. Use a meat baster to “squeeze” your pancake batter onto the hot griddle – perfect shaped pancakes every time.

    3. To keep potatoes from budding, place an apple in the bag with the potatoes.

    4. To prevent egg shells from cracking, add a pinch of salt to the water before hard-boiling.

    5. To get the most juice out of fresh lemons, bring them to room temperature & roll them under your palm against the kitchen counter before squeezing.

    6. To easily remove burnt-on food from your skillet, simply add a drop or two of dish soap and enough water to cover bottom of pan, and bring to a boil on stovetop-skillet will be much easier to clean.

    7. When a cake recipe calls for flouring the baking pan, use a bit of the dry cake mix instead-no white mess on the outside of the cake.

    8. If you accidentally over-salt a dish while it’s still cooking, drop in a peeled potato-it absorbs the excess salt for an instant “fix me up.”

    9. Brush beaten egg white over pie crust before baking to yield a beautiful glossy finish.

    10. Place a slice of apple in hardened brown sugar to soften it back up.

    11. When boiling corn on the cob, add a pinch of sugar to help bring out the corn’s natural sweetness. (ah, an old 1940’s Fannie Farmer trick!)

    12. To determine whether an egg is fresh, immerse it in a pan of cool, salted water. If it sinks, it is fresh-if it rises to the surface, throw it away.

    13. Cure for headaches: Take a lime, cut it in half and rub it on your forehead. The throbbing will go away.

    14. Don’t throw out all that leftover wine: Freeze into ice cubes for future use in casseroles and sauces.

    15. If you have a problem opening jars: Try using latex dishwashing gloves. They give a non-slip grip that makes opening jars easy.

    16. Potatoes will take food stains off your fingers. Just slice and rub raw potato on the stains and rinse with water.

    17. To get rid of itch from mosquito bite: try applying soap on the area, instant relief.

    18. Ants, ants, ants everywhere … Well, they are said to never cross a chalk line. So get your chalk out and draw a line on the floor or wherever ants tend to march-see for yourself.

    19. When you get a splinter, reach for the scotch tape before resorting to tweezers or a needle. Simply put the scotch tape over the splinter, then pull it off. Scotch tape removes most splinters painlessly and easily.

    20. NOW Look what you can do with Alka-Seltzer:

    * Clean a toilet-drop in two Alka-Seltzer tablets, wait twenty minutes, brush, and flush. The citric acid and effervescent action clean vitreous china.
    * Clean a vase-to remove a stain from the bottom of a glass vase or cruet, fill with water and drop in two Alka-Seltzer tablets.
    * Polish jewelry-drop two Alka-Seltzer tablets into a glass of water and immerse the jewelry for two minutes.
    * Clean a thermos bottle-fill the bottle with water, drop in four Alka-Seltzer tablets, and let soak for an hour (or longer, if necessary).
    * Unclog a drain-clear the sink drain by dropping three Alka-Seltzer tablets down the drain followed by a cup of Heinz White Vinegar. Wait a few minutes, then run the hot water.

  32. So glad you’re back Kellie!!

    YAY for Dianthe & Kelley. She is so beautiful! I’m so glad she is here finally, lol! Thanks for posting pix!

  33. Craig has been hitting the bottle again tonight………cheers.

  34. cheers?!?…i LOVE that show.

  35. i am going to cook a romantic viking dinner tonight…thought i would share what iron chef Craig is cooking:

    2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
    2 teaspoons dried thyme
    6 garlic cloves, minced
    salt and pepper, to taste
    Prime Rib Roast, (room temperature, very important !!)
    Au Jus (recipe follows)
    Horseradish sauce (recipe follows)

    1. In a small bowl combine mustard, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper. Spread generously on roast.

    2. Preheat oven to 500°.

    3. How long to roast? That is easy! Multiply the total roast poundage by 5 minutes. Be as accurate as possible.
    example: the rib roast weighs 5.53 pounds. Multiply 5.53 (pounds) times 5 (minutes) which equals = 27.65. This means the meat will roast for (27.65) or 28 minutes at 500°. After 28 minutes immediately turn oven temperature off. Do not open oven door during the next 2 hours the roast is still cooking.

    This method will cook any size prime rib roast to perfection… rare to medium rare inside the way a prime rib should be with a crispy outer crust. Serve with au jus and horseradish sauce.

    Au Jus Recipe
    I created this easy Au Jus recipe because I wanted a delicious quick dipping sauce

    1 (10-1/2 ounce) can French Onion soup
    1 (10-1/2 ounce) can Beef Broth
    1 can cold water
    1/2 teaspoon white sugar
    2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
    1/8 teaspoon salt

    Bring ingredients to a boil in saucepan; strain, discard onions. Serve au jus dipping sauce hot. Can be made 2 days ahead. Makes 3-1/2 cups

    Horseradish Sauce
    I created this easy and delicious horseradish sauce because I like it zesty

    1/2 cup sour cream
    3/4 cup prepared hot horseradish
    1 teaspoon salt

    Combine ingredients, cover and refrigerate to develop flavors. Can be made 2 days ahead. Makes 1-1/4 cups

    Wine recommendation: Cabernet Sauvignon; Merlot

  36. Craig, I think you need your own blog……..let’s see how many hits you get compared to Kellie’s…… hmmmmm.. what could it be called???…Maybe…..”Craig’s Love, Cooking, and Viking Advice” …Come on, don’t be shy about it…..did i just say “shy”???.. i meant dont be “slow” about it…. I can’t wait to tell you how fabulous you look and how much you’re loved!!!

  37. Lindsey…you shall be my first guest once my talk show deal is secured…oh…please tell me you are NOT a real estate agent??!!??

  38. Totally feel ya on the whole Lent thing, Kellie! I am not Catholic, but for some reason i felt like i should try giving up something. i decided to give up any kind of soft drink, which so far has been hard as all get out, because i basically live on any kind of pepsi product. but in the end it will be worth it, because by cutting out soft drinks i cut a lot of empty calories and a lot of sugar from my diet and i am also drinking a lot more water so yay!! so far no spiritual enlightenment has been reached, but a healthier diet has been adopted.i think the burn in hell thing only applies to Catholics, not baptists or pentecostals(which is what i am).

  39. LOVED that book. Worse than crying over it in the airplane…I cried while lying out at the pool and reading it. People partying all around me and I had tears flowing beneath my sunglasses.

    But yes, a wonderful book that truly does live up to the hype. Glad you discovered it. All the best!

  40. Okay Craig, when are you going to start your blog… I don’t think some of us can stand too much more of this shallow talk…..


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

