Delicious word of the day — “epiphany”

January 11, 2008 at 2:21 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 18 Comments

It’s just past 8:00 on a Thursday night and a naughty girl would be stumbling out of a happy hour that lasted a couple hours too long right about now. Instead, I was on the receiving end of a batch of potato soup that my sympathetic neighbor made for me, which is going to be the remedy I’m looking for. I can just tell. I couldn’t get in with my doctor today, so I decided to take a long hot bath, visit my lovely chiropractor Dr. Mary, eat a little pasta washed down with some potato soup, and pop a Vicodin. If carbs don’t help me, a potentially addictive narcotic will do. Actually, I think a good night’s sleep is going to be the most beneficial, so I’m heading that way in a minute.

I have an announcement to make — I have a date for Friday night. Yes, I fell off my Mark Kevin horse and I’m climbing back on my as-of-yet-unnicknamed horse and I’m going on a real movie date. And I’m going to make him buy me buttered popcorn AND Milk Duds AND my own diet Pepsi. There’s nothing more exciting that I can think of at the moment than putting a handful of hot buttered popcorn in my mouth followed by a chocolatey-delicious dud of milk and chewing it all up together. And to top it all off, I’ll have a man sitting there beside me while I do it. Movie dates are so cool. I think we’re going to go see “Juno.” I wonder if he’ll try to hold my hand…I hope he waits until I finish my popcorn and Milk Duds. That’s the type of eating that requires a  little double-fisting and I cannot be distracted.

Okay, I just read over this diary entry and I had to correct about a zillion typos because the Vicodin or the potato soup is kicking in. I  don’t know which one won, but I’m going to bed.

XO
Kellie

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ah…vicodin…sighs

  2. potato soup! I’m going to have to make some now.

    love vicodin too lol

  3. Have a great date and a wonderful weekend!

  4. Juno is a great movie, you’ll love it. Have fun and feel better soon.

  5. Kellie, you cracked me up this morning talkin about the “CHINA” buffet! lol

  6. attention…i did NOT post the above replies…i have not…would not EVER reply with 1…an overt sexual connotation or even denotation…2…i post NOTHING that would not garner a chortle.

  7. Leek Potato Soup
    Recipe courtesy Alton Brown, 2005
    Show: Good Eats
    Episode: Sprung a Leek
    1 pound leeks, cleaned and dark green sections removed, approximately 4 to 5 medium
    3 tablespoons unsalted butter
    Heavy pinch kosher salt, plus additional for seasoning
    14 ounces, approximately 3 small, Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and diced small
    1 quart vegetable broth
    1 cup heavy cream
    1 cup buttermilk
    1/2 teaspoon white pepper
    1 tablespoon snipped chives

    Chop the leeks into small pieces.

    In a 6-quart saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter. Add the leeks and a heavy pinch of salt and sweat for 5 minutes. Decrease the heat to medium-low and cook until the leeks are tender, approximately 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

    Add the potatoes and the vegetable broth, increase the heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and gently simmer until the potatoes are soft, approximately 45 minutes.

    Turn off the heat and puree the mixture with an immersion blender until smooth. Stir in the heavy cream, buttermilk, and white pepper. Taste and adjust seasoning if desired. Sprinkle with chives and serve immediately, or chill and serve cold.

  8. Congrats on the movie date, I prefer popcorn & pickle bites then milk dud bites but hey to each it’s own.
    I hope you have a great time and a wonderful weekend. Can’t wait to hear about the date on Monday. 🙂

  9. Nothing better than milk duds and popcorn!!! You are the first person to ever agree with me on this!!

  10. the most UN-first date movie EVER:
    http://www.apple.com/trailers/independent/teeth/trailer/

  11. I thought I was the only weirdo that ate Milk Duds and popcorn together–yum yum!!!

  12. Juno was hilarious! Hope you enjoyed it and had an awesome (and naughty!) date!
    Junior mints and Buttery popcorn is amazing..try that combo sometime!

  13. ^sorry…you have not the cadence and correct vernacular to impersonate me^

  14. Very interesting site that I find rich, pleasant and well organized!
    Honour for me if you include it in my

    “Multilingual” topliste Panorama

    http://everyoneweb.fr/topliste

    Best continuation!
    Sincerrely Yours! Kamdou

  15. I WISH vicoden still did that for me… it would be awesome!

  16. Jocelyn…my last gal pal referred to me as human crack cocaine.

  17. Perfect! Your last comment just about sums that up!
    *snorts*

  18. wish…i gotta ask…how can you hate someone you never met???…when you attack, you attack on a personal note and fail to counter any point i may have made…i wish you happiness as your words are void of any such joy.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

