Valuable lessons learned…

December 14, 2007 at 12:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 32 Comments

I can’t drink like I used to. Wow. What happened to me Wednesday night? I was trucking along just fine and then BAM! I hit a wall of drunk and it was hard and fast and out of the blue and not good. Even my friends were amazed. I’m still piecing together some of the details. Can’t quite remember certain conversations, which is quite frightening. But the other valuable lesson I learned is that if you do get drunk and try to be responsible by having somebody drive you home, make sure it’s a cute boy in a rock band that will give your co-workers enough show material to get us through to the new year. But just a quick note — Kurtis was a perfect gentleman and just wanted to make sure a drunk old woman made it home all right. And let’s face it, Kurtis could do a lot better than a drunk woman 13 years older than he is who couldn’t make eye contact with him because she wasn’t able to lift her face up out of her hands…But he’s still sweet. And CUTE. Cute boys are just so….CUTE.

Anyway, I have three more Christmas parties to attend and I’m still on the fence about the New Year’s Eve thing…but I guarantee you I won’t be pulling the same stunt again. I’m starting my New Year’s Resolutions list early.

1.  Finally get all the pictures of my daughter’s first 14 months of life in photo albums.

2.  Organize my closet and get rid of the clothes I still own from 1994.

3.  Don’t get drunk and let a rock star take me home. But if I do, make sure I don’t bring him to work with me the next day. Next time, it’ will be my little secret. 😉

XO
Kellie

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aren’t you a little too “mature” to be drinking like that anyways?
    If you already know you’re a two drink kind of girl, why even bother going over that limit? Either get your tolerance up (doesn’t have to be done in public–just drink at home with some friends) or stick to your limit. This drunk Kellie bit is getting really really old.

  2. Good for you girl! You deserve to go out and let loose every now and then. It’s one of the fun advantages to being single. 😉

  3. i am 43…i would find it hard to date a woman who is 56…not to sound mean spirited, but they begin to have that “old woman” smell…*perfumes by Prince Matchabelli make me break out in hives*

  4. Craig,
    You need to get a life. You are all over the message board telling people how stupid they are. Please take up needlepoint or some other hobby that will keep you from commenting on every message. The message board should not always contain crappy comments. We like to speak about how we are enjoying the SHOW. By the way, I don’t think Kellie is 56…if you listen to the show as much as you comment, you would know this. Oh, so you were doing the math? Another reason to get a life.

  5. Oh My goodness. Some people are just mean!
    Kellie is mature but not dead! She needs to be able to go out once in a while and have some fun. You don’t hear her talk all the time about going out! She was mature and let someone else drive her home. I am glad she had some fun!!!

  6. Alyssa, you need to shut up and get a life. So kelly went over her limit a little bit. It’s not like she’s the ONLY PERSON who’s ever done it. Sometimes it just creeps up on you, maybe if you had friends to go out and drink with you would know this, but obviously since you’re such a mean spirited person you probably don’t have any. And if the bit is getting old, you can always turn the dial. No one is forcing you to listen to the show. Kelly, I don’t know you personally, but from what I hear on the show and what I read on your blogs, you sound like such an awesome person, and I love your sense of humor. You say and do what the rest of us might not have the guts to. WE LOVE YOU!!!!!

  7. sherry…1…i did not, nor would not EVER, in any way, any shape or any form or fashion infer that Kellie was 56…2…i prefer surface embroidery to needlepoint…3…i am a combat veteran, please do not use and accusatory condescending tone with me.

  8. alyssa…drunk chics are fun…but sometimes drunk chics are mean and brutal…i prefer the fun drunk gal to the upset and frigid drunk beeeeyaahch.

  9. Alyssa,
    Comments and people like you are getting OLD. Go find something esle to do please!

  10. OMG!!! I love The Last Goodnight!! I am glad you had a good time, you deserve it!!

  11. I think there should be a way to delete the rude comments. I love to read Kellie’s blog but I think from now on I’m going to skip reading the comments people are crazy with their comments.. I mean really people get a life!!!

  12. Please please don’t “build up” your tolerance! Two drink Kelli is just fine! So what if you became 6 drink Kelli? I’m just so glad that you weren’t 12 drink Kelli, cause that would be something that’s just too immature. BTW, snooty uptight accent was used in that thought Alyssa.

  13. amen sister!!!

  14. Kellie,
    I finally watched the video with Shannon, Jc, & Kinsey!(Wanted Dead or Alive) That was so funny! JC looked so serious, like he was really doing a good job! And Kinsey and Shannon, love em.
    Ya’ll make the slow times at a work a blast!
    Ya’ll are all just the best!.

  15. Kellie,
    I’m glad you had a good time. You deserve it and more. 1…Craig–shut up! 2…It really doesn’t matter the age difference. 3…Why would you tell me that you are a combat veteran? I just think that she should be able to have a good time and everyone should let her do it without being all judgemental. Kellie YOU GO GIRL!

  16. You are never to “mature” to have a good time 🙂

  17. Kellie–you go for having fun! Alyssa, save the preaching for the AA meeting, stop your bitter tone and stay off the message boards.

  18. Kelly you ROCK MY SOCKS OFF! I love that you are a “mature” mother and can still have a good time in life. You brighten my day, and remind me to be myself.
    much love to you and your beautiful daughter 🙂

    ps thank God your not one of those dumb women who think that you always have to act a certin way in public or you should just stay home. what a BORING world we would live in.

  19. Kellie….YOU GO GIRL!!–at our age I think we DESERVE to go out and have a little fun. So what it was a little too–who cares, its your life!! You were responsible!! CUDOS for going out and having a great time!!!!!

    Oh yeah-The Wanted video was GREAT!!

  20. WOW!! How about “everyone” get along, if nothing else, just for the good old “Christmas Spirit”…….and allow “everyone” to give his/her “opinion”..without ripping them apart…. whether you agree with them or not……or whether they are right or wrong in “your opinion”…… isn’t that what we all give on here,”Our own opinions”?
    Who’s to say that it’s right or wrong?….

    So, here’s my opinion…:)…..
    I think if a guy can flirt or go out with a girl that much younger, then why can’t a girl spend the evening flirting with a younger guy….I mean, I don’t think she said she was planning on marrying him…..and isn’t that a step forward for Kellie… she was thinking..’fun”…instead of “marriage”…..

  21. We always make mistakes when we are drunk. Alcohol is a killer.

  22. I, for one, applaud you. Letting go, occasionally, is never a bad idea. And, as I am currently stupidly in love with a rock star, I say you couldn’t have picked anyone better to take you home!!!

    😉

    Go to it, girl.

  23. Alyssa, ditto to Dora… you need to shut up … turn the dial if you don’t like it. No one is forcing you to listen.

    Sherry, you need to shut up too. DON’T COME ONE HERE HARRASSING OTHERS AND TELLING THEM WHAT THEY CAN AND CANNOT DO. WE ARE ALL KELLIE’S FANS (WELL, MOST OF US) AND YOU HAVE NO RIGHT COMING ON HERE AND TELLING HIM TO GET A LIFE.

    YOU GET A LIFE AND QUIT BEING SUCH A LITTLE BEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

  24. KELLIE, GOOD FOR YOU GIRL. YOU DESERVED TO BE STUPID DRUNK (AND I SAY STUPID IN THE NICEST POSSIBLE WAY… I WAS STUPID DRUNK LAST NIGHT CELEBRATING MY MOTHER-IN-LAW COMING HOME FROM IRAQ). YOU ARE A HARD WORKING WOMAN AND AN AMERICAN WHICH GIVES YOU THE RIGHT TO DO ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING YOU WANT TO DO.

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    YOUR REAL FANS ARE PROUD.

  25. CINDY… I SAW YOUR COMMENT AFTER I “RIPPED” THOSE TWO APART. I JUST DON’T THINK THAT PEOPLE HAVE A RIGHT TO COME ONTO HER BLOG AND TELL HER FANS WHAT THEY CAN AND CANNOT DO AND TELL HER IN HER BLOG THAT SHE’S STUPID OR NOT GOOD ENOUGH OR SOMETHIGN IS WRONG WITH HER. WE ARE ALL HERE IN KELLIE’S DOMAIN… THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR OUR OPINIONS BUT A PLACE TO SUPPORT HER.

    PEOPLE HAVE THE RIGHT TO SAY ANYTHING THEY WANT AS LONG AS THEY REMEMBER THAT THIS PLACE IS A PLACE FOR HER FANS. HER REAL FANS.

    ANYONE ELSE CAN GET THEIR FAKE ASSES OUT.

  26. Jocelyn,
    “This is not a place for our opinions, but a place to support her”…….do you realize that in your last 3 blogs….. you were giving your opinion……
    Come on, lets don’t be so pious to think that no one on here is giving their opinions….
    Let’s just try not to take it so “PERSONAL” that we have to tell each other off.

  27. sherry…your Holiday Spirit leaves me underwhelmed…telling someone to “shut up” is 1.rude…2.crude…3.socially unacceptable…whilst i might expect such behavior in county lockup cell, the lack of social graces in this forum paints you not in the most pleasant of light…and whilst you may not appreciate any of my comments and or my wise and insightful pearls O wisdom, i have EARNED the right to make the afformetioned commentary having fought in 1.Grenada…2.Panama…3.Iraq…might i ask what have you done to earn YOUR freedom of speech?…i would wish you a Merry Christmas but i am convinced with your words, you are too self absorbed to do so.

  28. did you know that 10 out of 7 people have problems with mathmatics?!?
    *stephen hawkings pose #13*

  29. Hey,
    if you really want to give your “support” to someone who could really use it…. check this website out..
    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/mbradford

  30. As a Mommy of 2, I think the best thing you can do for you and your family is to go out and unwind sometimes. Just because your a Mom doesn’t mean you can’t go get drunk and have fun!
    I think nights like that..where I go out and have
    “grown up time”, make me a better Mom and Wife..because I relieve so much stress and have some time to forget about diapers, and teething, and laundry for once!
    I hate when people say just cause you’re a Mom you’re not allowed to go to parties or drink!

  31. There are some trolls, like Alyssa, who have nothing better to do then to put people down with their “opinions”. Yes granted it is her right to be mean spirited, ugly, & rude but “if” she had any manners at all she would understand how wrong it is for her to post such things.
    Especially during the Christmas time people would go out of their way to hold such opinions to themselves and say nothing at all. Isn’t that easier then cutting someone down with such hatred? Do we really need to belittle people just cause we can.
    Also Alyssa you have the freedom not to listen to the show. Listen to another show that may offer whatever you think Kidd Kraddick show is not offering you.
    Last but not lease, I like Craig and yes he does post a lot but that just means he really likes the blogs and can’t stay way. There’s nothing wrong with that. Hey Craig you may be spaming on some of these message boards but some of your stuff is funny. If Craig chooses to hang out then let him. Lets all try to get along and practice the some of our manners.
    PS: For those of you who don’t know what is a troll look it up on Urbandictionary.com

  32. Kelly,
    I went to this party where they were making the most delish drinks. They were so sweet that you honestly couldn’t taste the booze in them. So after 3 drinks I was drunk. Yup it only took three drinks. Oh well the good thing was that my friends called my sister to come pick me up and I didn’t have to impose on anyone to take me home.
    At least you got a hottie to drive you home.

    Also my hubby has learned that as he gets old and the less and less he drinks that his drinking tolerence has gone down. Which means that at a younger age he was able to drink a lot before he got drunk and now that he is old it takes very little to get him drunk. lol

    I’m going to miss you guys when you go on vacation. I’m also going to envy you for being able to take the time off while I still have to show up to work. 😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

