I guess this is it…

November 13, 2007 at 4:52 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 69 Comments

I think this is what they call “bittersweet,” but it is with great sadness that I have to announce I am leaving Kidd Kraddick in the Morning.

I decided to try something a little different since my divorce, and I’ve been keeping my private life a little more private.  And apparently, it’s worked out in my favor!

It was in April, shortly after my big birthday, that I met a man in town on business. Is it embarrassing to admit that we met in a bar? But that’s the way it happened, and there’s no way to change that. Anyway, Mark and I just clicked immediately and before we knew it, three hours had passed by and it felt more like 30 seconds.  He actually lives almost 500 miles away, but he comes here a lot on business.  So we kept communicating through emails and whenever his schedule allowed, Mark would catch a quick flight down here or I’d try to visit him.  He did most of the traveling, though, because I just complained too much about having to travel with the baby. 

Finally after that whole “broken tooth” incident, things suddenly became a lot more serious between the two of us. And I know it was fast, but when you know, you know. And I’m excited to say that on September 30, Mark proposed and I said yes.  It’s sudden and it’s wonderful and he loves me and Emma Kelly and we both just love and adore him.  I couldn’t have hand-picked a better man to have walked into our lives.

But now here’s the sad part. Mark owns an advertising firm. And fortunately, he does really, really well with it. Unfortunately, he can’t relocate.  And since I’m a mommy now, I find that I just want to be home with Emma Kelly more and more.   I’m a little nervous about it, but we’re fortunate that Mark does well enough that I can try staying home for a while — at least until Emma Kelly starts kindergarten.

I would’ve liked to have stayed until at least the end of the year, but since neither one of us wants a long engagement, I’ve already put my house on the market.  We’ve also got to find a home together and plan a wedding and with the holidays here on top of all that, it just makes sense for me to leave before our Thanksgiving break.

I wish there was some way Kidd could let me set up a microphone in my new home so I could continue to do the show, but since that’s not really an option, I’m afraid this is it! But I want to thank you so much for 13 and a half WONDERFUL years! My life has absolutely been made better because of my time here, and I hope you can say the same.

XO
Kellie

69 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Kellie,

    Congratulations on the engagement, you’ll be very happy it’s about time that things worked out for your. Emma Kelly will be a very happy baby once she realizes that her mommy will be with her all the time. Don’t feel bad about leaving the show, you have to do what is best for the both of you and what makes you happy.

  2. hahaha…I think you are the worst liar out of all of them!! Hope you have a happy life with broken tooth guy! 😛 We will miss you!

  3. Whatever Kidd. You tube “Who’d you be today.” Kenny Chesney. Then we’ll talk. GOD BLESS R VETS!

  4. Kelly, I am so sad that you are leaving the show, I feel that most of the time, you are the only one who has common sense, and you make listening to the show fun. The show definately will not be the same, I almost cried reading this blog post, you must come back at least once a month or continue to blog, maybe even get your own pod cast. You will be greatly missed.
    ❤ A loyal fan.

  5. Congrats and good luck Kelly!! You and Emma Kelly deserve only the best in your lives. You will be missed!!

  6. I’m am sad to hear that you are leaving the show. I will miss hearing you in the mornings.

    God Bless, and best wishes for a long and HAPPY marraige. You deserve nothing but the best, and it is a blessing that you will be able to stay home with litlle miss Emma all day!

    Good luck!

    *Andrea

  7. I can’t believe it!! I heard the show this morning and you guys annouced some one was leaving, I didn’t even pay attention because I assumed it was Taylor or JC. NOT U KELLIE!! I don’t care what anyone says I LOVE YOU and all your ME,ME,ME stories. I was also suprised to hear why you are leaving, since on the show it seemed you were unlucky in love. I left a message on the message board also. You will be greatly missed and you deserve the best for you and Emma Kelly so I am glad you found a wonderful man to share the rest of your life with. Hope Kidd will let you post a couple pictures and blogs so all of your LOYAL listeners will be able to keep up with how your doing. Best Wishes

  8. WHAT ?!?!?! Did I somehow sleep right through to April Fool’s Day ?!? Did someone hack into Kellie’s blog and post this ?!?

    Seriously though . . . if this is true, then of course we wish Kellie, Emma Kelly and Mark all the best. Of course KKITM will never be the same without her, but change is inevitable and is sometimes a good thing !

    Congratulations ! (And perhaps we could continue the blog “long distance” throughout all of the trials and tribulations of a new relationship, the holidays and moving to a new city. . . ?)

  9. Wow, what a surprise to wake up to this morning! Congrats on finding your “Mr Right” and best of luck with the upcoming move and wedding. You’ve touched us all over the past 13 and a half year. You’ll certainly be missed around these parts.

  10. Holy cow!!! CONGRATS!!!! But it will definitely not be the same without you 😦

  11. Hmmmm, do I smell a rat . . . ? Might this just be a published version of Kellie’s “maybe its real, maybe its not” resignation letter ?

    Maybe Dianthe is going on maternity leave . . . ?

  12. Sorry, to hear that your leaving. But, I would if you could stay with the show from a remote location. As it is now your in a remote room. I really feel sad that your leaving. BYE!!!!
    LOVE YOU

  13. Kellie,
    OMG!! I’m sitting here writing this as I blink back tears. I can’t believe you’re leaving the show. It will definitely not be the same w/o you. Since I’ve gotten a new job I don’t get to listen to the show, but I keep up w/ y’all through the website. I just can’t believe that it’s come to an end. I pray that things will work out for you for the best. You sounded happy when you talked about Mark in your blog and I pray it stays that way for both of you. I wish the three of you the very best. Keep in touch please. I miss hearin from you.
    XO,
    Amanda

  14. Kelly,
    I am so-o-o-o-o-o happy for you! It’s wonderful that you met someone so special, but it is too bad you have to move away. I don’t know how the show will be without you, but I wish you all the best. Will you let us know where you’re going? Not that it matters really, we just want to keep up. Congratulations and best of luck for everything in your future. We will miss you so much!

    –Margaret Moss
    Wichita, KS

  15. It is sad to hear that you are leaving the show since I have not been listening very long. ( our radio station just picked you guys up not too long ago). Sounds like you are going to be very happy and i wish you all the best in life! Congrats on finding someone who makes you very happy! We will miss hearing you every morning!

    Best of Luck,

    Sara (charleston Sc)

  16. OMG!!! I’m so totally excited for your, but sad at the same time. I have been listening to KKITM for 5 years..I feel like you are a part of my life! I hope you will call in to the show all the time to give us updates on Emma Kelly and YOU for that matter. We are really gonna miss you Kelly..the show just won’t be the same without you. Ok..I think I am gonna cry :0(

    Congrats with everything! You deserve it!
    Cherie
    Hammond, Louisiana

  17. WOW Kellie…..I am so happy for you and Mark and for Emma Kelly. I wish you nothing but happy times. I will miss you on the radio in the mornings as you have been a part of my life now for 13 years. I do hope you will keep this Blog going so we can hear about your brand new life.
    As you and Mark set out together on this new road just remember one thing….If you can laugh at it, you can live with it.

  18. I am truly so happy for you Kelly. I so belived your letter I read last night on your blog. I know its you and you are moving on with your life. Good things are is store for you but you will always be remembered to all your listeners.
    You will be greatly missed
    Mandy
    Gulf Breeze, FL

  19. See ya

  20. Kellie would never marry someone after 5 months!

  21. Kelly,
    If it is you (boo hoo). Happy reason to go but YOU MAKE THE SHOW as far as I am concerned. I am not sure I would even listen anymore if it is you and I have been listening for about 10 years. Hey if you want to email me and not make me wait till Thursday that would be great! (haha):)
    Blessings,
    Melissa

  22. I’m so happy for you… you’re life has been an open book, or mic, and I can appreciate the why, but oh my gosh I’ll miss you.

    I’m afraid to say that you are the only reason I listen to the show. I have always loved your “hold the course” opinions. Your vision is based on moral values and needs to be said, if not always heard.

    Blessings to you Kellie and your sweet Emma Kelly! You deserve the best in life and I pray that Mark can help make all that should be yours happen!

  23. Please send us photos of your wedding and of your precious baby in the future. i will miss reading your blogs and hearing you each morning as i have these past few years. But I wish you all the best on your new journey and I am happy for you and Emma Kelley!

    All the best,
    RJ Flowers
    SA, TX

  24. I hope this a joke..I hope you are not the one leaving..not that I dont love everyone on the show, but I must say you are my favorite! I have laughed with you, cried with you and prayed for you. I feel like I am losing a friend. But if this is a true resignation, I wish you nothing but the best.

    Love, Kelly

  25. I really hope it’s not you that’s leaving, although I’d be really happy for you if you’re really getting married! I dont think my mornings would be the same without you! 🙂

  26. Good try Kelly, but I don’t believe it for a second. First of all, your tone was way too casual while you were reading your letter, and you’ve been through way too much with Freddie to jump up and move away (with Emma Kelly) to be with some guy who is miles away. Kidd slipped up by saying “he” would reveal who’s leaving the show, which leads me to believe that the person who’s really leaving is a guy (Al or JC). Nice try though!!

  27. Uh? Is this a joke? I cannot imagine it – seriously. I cried when I read it – however, I’m such a cynic – I’m thinking this is some kind of a joke, at least I hope it is. If not (and a miracle has happened), congratulations and good luck.

  28. No way this is true!! You are way too cautious to get married this quick….I know that’s what you want, but I don’t think like this. I’m not buying it:) If it is true, it would be really sad to see you go, but again….I’m not buying it.

    DeeDee
    Honorary Kiddy Kat Doll

  29. Liar Liar Pants on Fire…Love ya though…if you leave, I will quit listening to the show.

  30. Don’t worry Kelly… I haven’t gotten my email so that I can vote either!!!

  31. Kelli,
    As soon as I read your blog I felt so happy for you and Emma Kelly. You deserve allthis happiness so sweetie just sit back and soke it all up. I know you 3 are headed down a great path with new adventures waiting for you. Congrats and you tell Mark he is a lucky man. I will miss hearing you on the radio Kelly but now when I dont hear you I will know that you are somewhere with Emma Kelly and Mark starting your new lives together and that will make me smile as I did when you were on the air. Good luck you guys!!!

  32. hey kellie i am sad to see you go you are my favorite on the show, but congratulations and have fun in this new leg of your journey through life. : )

  33. Ooohhhh, I call a big B.S. on this one!!!

  34. Whoa. How do we go from one day wondering if we should be set up with Owen Wilson look-a-like to the next day saying we have been engaged since September? If you have been engaged, then why would you even have to wonder about being set up? I don’t think I believe it either!!! I’ve listened to this show for a long, long time, and I would cry if you left!!!!!

  35. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you and Emma Kelly. I know everyone will miss you! Kidd will lose a lot of listeners. It won’t be the same without you. Your the only woman who can keep Kidd in line. We wish you the best! We love you!
    Naomi(Texas)

  36. Kellie! I am so happy for you, but am very sad at the same time. I wish you all the best of luck and hope everything is wonderful for you! Congratulations and I hope we still hear from you lots.

    Best of Luck!

  37. this is one of the FEW women that i would diet for.

  38. Ya’ll don’t get it. It’s a hoax…She’s not getting married and moving away. One person is leaving and if you voted you can see that the vast majority voted for someone else. If you read Kellie’s blogs she talks about blind dates and all of that. She’s not getting married or moving away. Thankfully we are stuck with her for a long time!!!

  39. Seriously, everyone who is sad or happy for Kellie, please remember that the entire show has said they are the one leaving. Wait until Thursday to be sad. I really doubt Kellie is the one leaving. This is a radio bit. Just read everyone else’s blogs to see that they are also saying they are leaving the show.

  40. if a listener had to go, it would be me…i am the happy,lovable,huggable,jovial fat guy…we ALWAYS get voted off, killed or left behind…*shakes fist at america’s ONLY acceptable prejudice*

  41. Wow, the show will never be the same without you. I wish you happiness and health on this new chapter in your life Kellie. Dallas will miss you!!!

  42. Good letter – But I voted for Dianthe =)

  43. You are so NOT leaving!!!

  44. Guys, Please read Kellie’s previous post, she writes about her friends trying to hook her up with an Owen Wilson look-a-like…Kellie is not leaving or why would her friends be trying to hook her up. I do give Kellie some credit; she has taken this “punk” to a hopeful, happy ever after level….however, not a believable level.

  45. Seriously, does anyone REALLY believe that Kellie is leaving?

  46. Come on people! Do you really think Kellie could just up a move 500 miles away with Emma Kelly? Aren’t you forgetting that Freddie has some custody time with the baby and I don’t think they could work out a new custody/visitation agreement this fast.

  47. yesterday you write about a setup w/a new guy today it’s your engaged, nice try but it’s not happening yet w/you. beside i’d figure freddy would have something to say about his daughter moving 500 miles away

  48. Kelly…
    What? Don’t leave! Men come and go out of our lives so often. Please don’t leave the show for something that may not even work out. I hate to be negative, but I know most men that travel are unfaithful. What are you going to do when he’s out of town on business and you’re wondering, well, I wonder what he’s up to???? Think about it.

  49. Well this would make a good reason for anyone in Kelly’s situation to drop everything and leave the show. Who wouldn’t understand Kelly wanting to be happy with Mr. Right & having to move due to it. …..
    But that would mean all those blogs she wrote about being set up for blind dates, going on a blind date to the “Dancing with the Stars” & other such blog entries to be a big lie. Granted it is possible Kidd didn’t know but don’t think Kelly could keep that from him too long.

    “If” this is true that I do want to tell you Kelly that Kidd Kraddick in the Morning will not be the same without you. You are a pilar to the show and I don’t think they could find anyone half as wonderful as you to fill in your spot. I would also like to say CONGRATS for not giving up on love & finding such happiness.

    Can I also point out that Kelly took so long to get engaged & married that it just feels so crazy to believe she would jump back into it in such a short time of knowing anyone. Especially now that she has Emma Kelly. I just don’t believe you would do that.

    Good cover story but way to many holes in it for be completely believable.

  50. Aww, I almost believed it was you, ’til I saw from your other blogs that you’re still dating. 😉

    I’m glad you’re staying. Hearing you is like listening to myself. 🙂

  51. um i missed this mornings episode is she really leaving 😦

  52. I really hope you aint leaving Kellie!!!!Your are my favorite person on the show!!! If you do it just won’t be the same…. 😦 please tell me this is a joke…..

  53. kelly your not a good liar,even though your so hot!!!!!!!!!!!

  54. Oh, this is totally not true! There was just a blog about a blind date! 🙂 I’m glad, though. The show wouldn’t be half as good without Kellie! Love you, Kellie!

  55. Ha! I don’t believe you for a second Kellie…though I do wish you a wonderful future 🙂 My vote is for Dianthe. Hey, what’s up with Kidd’s photo in “who’s leaving” poll? Looks like the 80’s (yes the entire decade!) threw up on him!

  56. Wow! I’m shocked, but really happy for you. Congrats!

  57. I don’t believe you one bit! Although I hope you find your TRUE prince charming!! You and Emma Kelly deserve nothing but the absolute best!! XOXO

  58. […] I guess this is it… I think this is what they call “bittersweet,” but it is with great sadness that I have to announce I am […] […]

  59. Good luck Kelly

    Thiago Oliveira

    Projeto Sonho

  60. This is all Freddie’s fault.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (he gets the blame for all bad)

  61. Hey there – I’m not from your area and have never heard your show, but I found this post on WordPress.

    Congratulations on your engagement. I myself and trying to get my life together with a small daughter after a divorce, and your story gives me hope!

  62. Ok, just read some of the other comments and realized that this might not be true.

    It’s still a nice story though.

  63. I sure hope it’s not you Kellie! You are such a strong woman I can’t see you leaving because of a man,especially After everything you have been through.. It would be so wonderful if you did find Mr. Right but gosh sure would hate to see you leave the show!

  64. Okay, we all know how jaded Kellie is about men, there is NO WAY she would leave her job for one. She also wouldn’t have gone on the blind date to LA with that teacher after she was supposedly engaged. Seriously… nobody buys this, right?

  65. I think Shannon is leaving. Her letter was the only believable one…

  66. It ain’t real. She can’t take Emma Kelly out of the state unless Freddie consents.

  67. I think this is Fake!!
    I sure hope it is, if not than I feel we have all been played for fools. I listen/read everyday. I feel bad for Kellie in the love department, but not if she has been stringing us along with all this talk of hopeless dates, working out to find a man, etc. I love listening to Kellie and hate to have her go, but if this is true then I think everything she has said lately is a lie. And why lie about something so inconsequential. I am not saying Kellie’s love life is any ones business but her own, but don’t make up sob stories for ratings.

  68. I hope it is you!!! You don’t take care of your daughter that you wanted so bad. You leave that up to the nanny. No fit mother leaves their infant for days at a time several times during the first year of their life. You are a horrible mother and Freddy should take Emma away from you!!! I’m sure the engagement is fake too!!

  69. I don’t believe it! I remember you just wrote this on your blog on Nov. 5th…”I don’t know…but the more people are wanting to set me up, the less excited I am about dating. Dating is just weeding out people until you meet the one you’re going to marry, don’t you agree? And from what I remember, being married wasn’t all that fabulous. And from what I hear from my friends who are still married, it’s pretty much the same story. I am not married, and with a few exceptions where Emma Kelly is concerned, I can pretty much do whatever the heck I want.

    I don’t have to cook for anybody’s weird or eccentric eating habits but mine. I don’t even have to cook at all if I don’t want to! I can pour a bowl of cereal or heat up a can of soup and call it supper! I don’t have to wash and fold anybody’s underwear but my own. I can watch whatever I want on TV. Everything is where I want it to be and it stays right where it is. I don’t have to ask if I can buy something stupidly expensive. I can sleep sideways on the bed if I want to. I don’t have to clean up anybody’s hairs off the bathroom floor but mine. If something needs fixing, I just call my ever-reliable handyman. But I had to do that when I was married anyway, so nothing’s changed there…So why would I want to run around dating people I might accidentally end up marrying??? I’ve got a pretty good thing going with this single mom stuff. Why would I want to mess that up?

    XO
    Kellie”

    When I read it, I thought, you go girl! A week later I read this blog saying that you’ve found the love of your life months ago and plan on getting married. Don’t get me wrong, good for you. Everyone deserves to be happy. But don’t lie to your readers that believe you are being truthful and honest to us. I’ve read your blog for months, I even moved to an area where the show is not available on the radio but I still get online just to see what you have to say about life. It’s a great disappointment for me to realize you weren’t completely honest. I hope you can understand my feelings.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

