Emma Kelly’s birthday party!

October 31, 2007 at 2:54 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 39 Comments

A lot of you are asking me for more pictures of the party. Well! I did a very smart thing. I hired Brandi from B4Photography to take pictures because I knew good and well that I’d be running around like a chicken with its head cut off and not remember to take out my camera. And I was right! I got just a couple of shots of Emma Kelly all dressed up before the guests started to arrive, and my time as camerawoman was over. But! Brandi said she’d have the CD to me within a week, and when that happens, OF COURSE I’ll post more pictures. You know I love to share her!

And I never thought homemade macaroni and cheese would be considered strange for a Thanksgiving dinner, but apparently some people think that’s odd. Maybe it IS a South Carolina thing. Cool! If only Mama had fried up some fat back and stirred up some collard greens, it would’ve been CHRISTMAS come early!!

XO
Kellie

39 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Homemade macaroni and cheese can’t be just a South Carolina thing…it’s always on our Thanksgiving table and we’re from Texas. Glad Emma Kelly’s party went well. Hang on because time is going to start flying and before you know it, she’ll be heading off to school. Enjoy every minute!!!

  2. I don’t know what’s the big deal with Mac and Cheese. I’m in Virginia and I live for my Grandma’s Baked Mac and Cheese every Thanksgiving. It must be a Southern Thang. Ha Ha!!! I can’t wait for Emma Kelly’s Birthday Pics. She looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing her with the rest of us. My little girl is eight now and I miss the baby days.

  3. Kellie,

    Baked Mac & Cheese is a staple in my house for all holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, etc.) and I am from New Orleans. So it is definitely not a South Carolina thing.

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of Emma Kelly and her birthday parties, she is sooooo cute!

  4. My husband’s family in Alabama does mac&cheese for Thanksgiving. Maybe it’s a southern thing. TX doesn’t always follow along with “southern” traditions, in my experience.

  5. kellie-

    I am with you about homemade macaroni & cheese. Not just a SC thing…it’s a Texas thing too! My Nan (grandmother) makes it for Thanksgiving & Christmas every year. We LIVE for the homeade mac & cheese! It’s fabulous! 🙂

  6. Must be a Georgia thing, too!

  7. Kellie

    I am with you girl Thanksgiving is not Thanksgiving without mac and cheese And this Georgia girl can live with out collard greens for Thanksgiving and Christmas

  8. Sorry typing error on my last comment I CANNOT live without my colloard for the holidays

  9. Mac and cheese is a STAPLE in this house at thanksgiving and I’m in Texas!

  10. Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without homemade macaroni & cheese! OMG! It is just as important as the freaking Turkey! I have lived in Texas all my life and I have never had a Thanksgiving without macaroni & cheesse. Yummmy! It makes me want some now! 🙂

  11. I make mac and Cheese every year for Thanksgiving and at Christmas. If people think that is weird they would think some of the stuff my mother-in-law makes is really weird. But you know what is was your family and if that’s what you who cares. I hope you all had a wonderful!

  12. Sorry, not everybody in Texas eats mac n cheese for T’giving, must be a regional thing (never heard of it in West Tx)

    As for fat back and collard greens — yep, there’s no doubt you are SOUTHERN, Kellie! I don’t mind the greens but pig parts — yeesh!

  13. I don’t think it is necassarily a southern thing…I’m in kansas and live for my aunt’s homemade mac n cheese on Thanksgiving!!

  14. No macaoroni at Thanksgiving? That’s insane! I wait all year to pig out on homemade mac & cheese. It’s a treat I look forward to because it is soooo
    fattening and soooo good!
    Love you Kellie Rasberry! Emma Kellie is just as precious as she can be!
    Happy Halloween!
    Kelly

  15. I can’t wait to see more pics! My daughter is 16 months and it literally seems like her birthday party was last weekend. I’m telling you, for some reason after 1 it flies by faster than ever. I just want to freeze time!

    By the way, we ALWAYS have homemade mac and cheese for Thanksgiving. It’s a staple!

    jen
    Dallas

  16. Why is it such a big deal? Kellie is nice enough to tell us about her life and let us follow along. Who cares what she eats at Thanksgiving. Leave her alone.

  17. Must be a West Texas thing too…we eat mac n cheese for every Thanksgiving and Christmas!! Love, Love, Love it!!!

  18. We love homemade mac and cheese for all of our holidays in Southern Louisiana.

  19. I’m in San Antonio TX (Go Spurs!) and we eat mac and cheese for Thanksgiving too!!! It’s a southern thing. Love ya, V

  20. Homemade Mac and Cheese is one of the things I look forward to on holidays. When I’d see my Momma with her dark brown casserole dish out, I knew she was bakin’ up some Mac and Cheese. I made the mistake of making it my way one day, and now I have to make it (which takes a good 45 minutes to an hour to make) and Peppermint Pie for the Holidays. But it isn’t just a South Carolina thing; it isn’t just a Southern thing. It’s what the cool kid Southerners do! HAHAHA 🙂

  21. Im from Northeast Louisiana and we have mac and cheese for everything from Thanksgiving to Easter. My brother would starve to death if we didn’t.LOL As for the colloard greens, my family is more into turnip greens. Hope everyone has a Happy Halloween!! Kellie, Emma Kelly is soo cute.

  22. How bout some fried chicken, turkey, and mac and cheese every year! If I didn’t have my mac and cheese then it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving!

  23. Yay, more Emma Kelly pics to come! She is so cute, Kellie!

  24. It must be a Southern thing. I’m from Louisiana and we have it every year too! Yum!! Makes me kinda sorry for those who don’t get it! Ha!

  25. Hey Kellie! First of all, let me just say that I absolutly LOVE reading your blogs! They always make me laugh! And I love your word usage…as weird as that sounds. Also, I’m from southern Louisiana and home made baked Maccaroni and Cheese is a MUST for Thanksgiving! People who don’t eat it for Thanksgiving don’t know what their missing! YUMM-OOO

    Have a great day!!!!!

  26. I’m from way down south of Texas and all my life we have Mac & Cheese but my hubby was raise in Houston area and his family did the baked Mac & cheese for both Thanksgiving & Xmas….

    I’ve never heard of casserole until I married my hubby. So that to me was strange. lol

  27. Homemade mac and cheese for Thanksgiving, HELL YEAH!!! That is a staple at our dinner table along with the fried turkey, rice dressing, peas, salad, and pecan pie. Maybe it is a southern thing, b/c I’m from Louisiana. Everyone else is just jealous of the South’s traditions!

  28. In our area of Texas, Mac n cheese is what ya eat when there’s no other food (especially meat) in the house, or when you need comfort food. (And I make a killer 3 cheese mac n cheese from scratch, might make some tonight…)

    I can’t imagine something so heavy at thanksgiving with other heavy things! Between gravy, rolls, potatoes, green beans and DRESSING (not stuffing, but cornbread dressing made in a roasting pan separately from the turkey) I think I’d burst if I had to eat cheese and pasta, too! oof! NO wonder Kellie feels so “loved”, LOL

  29. PS, whoever said Texas doesn’t follow Southern that’s so true. We consider ourselves in West Texas to be “Southwest” not Southern, so many of the traditions are very different, I’ve never had a collard in my life, and certain not pig parts. The black folks have those, though. Love my turnip greens and pepper-vinegar dressing, though.

    I was once in Florida on New Year’s Day and we couldn’t find blackeyed peas being served ANYwhere, I was stunned. I thought that was not only SOUTHWESTERN, it was SOUTHERN, too! Nothing’s more south in the US than Florida, but nope, no blackeyed peas, not in So FLa… weird.

  30. My family has homemade baked macaroni and cheese every year for Thanksgiving, Christmas and just about any other holiday we can think of. It must be a Louisiana thing too. 🙂

  31. Mac and cheese- homemade in the oven with enough cheese to clog up all of your arteries, is a perfect side for any meal ESPECIALLY a holiday meal. don’t let Emma Kelly grow up and not know wht real food is. She will be fine if she eats real dairy and not soy-something or another.
    I’ll all about it!

  32. Homemade mac and cheese is a huge thing for my family, and I’m from Indiana! We have it at every big family celebration, especially Thanksgiving and Christmas.

  33. My mom always makes homemade macaroni and cheese (my grandmother’s recipe) for Thanksgiving and anytime I come home to visit (Tennessee)! It’s definitely a Southern thing and I love being from the South!!

  34. It’s totally a Mississippi thing too. We have home-made mac and cheese for EVERYTHING! It’s probably why we are the most obese state in the US, lol =]

  35. My family requests Baked Mac and Cheese every year! It’s always the first to go at the table!!!

  36. We have homemade Mac & Cheese too at Every holiday gathering (and we live in KS).

  37. Homemade mac and cheese is a must at any important gathering, i love it!!!!

  38. This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

  39. hi kellie! ur baby is so so cute!!! i also have a baby girl and though we are of different race (i’m a filipino!) my baby xelynah (pronounced as “selena”) looks very much like your baby! well maybe because the dad is fair-skinned and of chinese descent. but anyways, your baby is realy so lovable!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

