Thanksgiving Come Early…

October 30, 2007 at 2:04 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments

My parents have been staying with me since Friday, and you know what that means. Non-stop food-a-palooza.  I am going to have to put my foot down with this whole “Food equals love” theme that runs rampant when we all get together.  Sunday night, it was Mexican Fiesta night with my brother slinging fajitas and quesadillas all over the place and us shoving it all down our big gaping holes because “Food equals love” and he was loving us by cooking and we were loving him by eating gluttonous amounts of it.  It was also a bit frustrating teaching my parents that it’s not pronounced “fruh-heetas.”  But after a while, what are you gonna do….

Then Monday night, it was Thanksgiving. Yes, because we’re not going to be together for that most lovingest of all holidays, we had Thanksgiving early, complete with ham, turkey, Mama’s homemade macaroni and cheese — TWO casseroles of it! — lima beans, cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie with Cool Whip on top for dessert. Cool Whip is extra special love, you see.

I AM SO SICK OF EATING!!! I SWEAR to you, I’ve gained five pounds in the past two days. I AM NOT LYING!!! I am going to be completely, violently ill if I’m loved anymore during this visit!! Not that I haven’t enjoyed every minute of it….

XO
Kellie

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You, gaining weight?
    i doubt it, haha.. your skinny.

  2. Hey, love the new blog page! Happy BDay to Emma Kelly, she really is too cute.

  3. girl i have listen for years and i think you have handled the last few things super and you are doing a great job as a single mom. been there done that but i met the right one and we are great. advice from an older use to be single mom the right one will come when you least expect it. make sure you pick him and no one else.. keep up the good job……

  4. families can make things hard but god love em they are what helps get through life, if we are lucky.

  5. I LOVE the new blog page! But where’s your pic? I can’t wait to see all the new head shots you guys took… are you ever going to post them?

  6. Aw! How can you not eat when “love is in the air!”. haha!
    Sounds like you had a blast. Family is the best thing ever!!

  7. Good lord! Macaroni and cheese plus turkey in the same meal? Is this “Colon Cork” Thanksgiving? Wow! LOL, that sounds painful! Is this a Southern thing? I’m in Texas, and our staple dishes at Thanksgiving are fresh veggies — green beans, potato casserole, sweet potatoes, dressing, turkey. And usually a fruit salad. IS mac n cheese for thanksgiving a tradition with your family or in your area??? Very different!

  8. My husband thinks we’re weird because we have macaroni and cheese (homemade of course) on Thanksgiving!! At least now I know your family does it too!!! So, it must be a SC thing! I’m from Pickens. 🙂

  9. I’m from la and we’ve always had mac & cheese for Thanksgiving. Yum!

  10. Of course it’s a SC thing! I lived in Charleston until I turned 18 now I’m stuck in the land of gumbo and crawfish otherwise known as Louisiana(yuck!). We always have mac n cheese for thanksgiving and christmas! Just want to say that I love you on the show and hope to be able to come see the show live sometime soon!

  11. I love, love, love it when my grandma makes homemade mac-n-cheese! We’re as Southern as they come. Along with mashed potatoes, dressing, and sweet potatoes! It’s a starch fest at our holiday dinners! The past few years there have been so many of us to feed we’ve been cooking a HUGE pot of beans with ham and a bunch of sides! We also enjoy the traditional pumpkin pie along with a homemade pecan pie. Now that’s good love!

  12. It’s not just a SC thing, I was born and raised in Texas and we have mac and cheese with everything! It’s a must have when all the little kids are around, they just love it.

  13. We always have mac & cheese (homemade) at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I’m from Louisiana, though, and we basically like to eat anything and everything fried, buttered or coated in some sauce or cheese. 🙂

  14. It’s not Thanksgiving if there’s not Mac & Cheese. It’s like having a burger without the bun. I can’t believe it’s a south thing??

    Well the northern’s are missing out a side dish from the gods!

    Hmmmm…. pumkin pie! w/whip cream!! *drools!*

  15. It wouldn’t be Thanksgiving (or any major meal day) without Mac and Cheese on the table. I’m from Kentucky, so maybe it’s a southern thing? I didn’t think it was strange at all.

  16. KELLIE…I love love love your blog! I check it everyday and i just cant stop reading it! I esspecially love when you put pictures of you and Emma Kelly on it. I just love it! Im addicted to you!! You are like the most amazing person ever! And i cant say ive ever had mac and cheese for thanksgiving but that doesnt mean its weird or anything. And for Rachel…Louisiana is GREAT!! So dont hate on my state. Please! Your great Kellie!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

