My Mama’s Macaroni and Cheese!!!

March 11, 2008 at 2:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 31 Comments

My Mama’s Macaroni and Cheese

1 16 oz. pkg. macaroni noodles, cooked in salted water

1 pint of heavy whipping cream

At least 1 lb of medium cheddar cheese

about 1/2 lb. of muenster cheese

3 eggs, beaten up in the whipping cream

about 1/2 stick of butter….butter is better than margarine

Boil the macaroni until tender. Taste it, and if it’s too salty, just rinse the noodles under running water right in the colander.

Melt a couple of tablespoons of butter in the bottom of your casserole, and put one layer of noodles in. Layer about 1/2 of the cheddar cheese, muenster cheese and a few pats of butter on this layer. Put another layer of noodles and then another layer of cheese and a few pats of butter. Mix the eggs up with the cream and pour over the entire casserole. Dot with any additional butter on top.

Bake uncovered at 375 for about 20 minutes and check it. Slide the back of a spoon down one side of the casserole, and it should be congealed….not runny at all. If it’s still runny, continue to bake and check it about every 5 minutes until you get the custardy consistancy. Serve hot….if you wait until the cheese cools off it’s not nearly as good.

31 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH NO!!!! I just started a diet…why must you post wonderful southern girl recipes like this???? This sounds yummilicious and I think I MUST make it for Easter dinner.

    Thanks Kelly! ;-)

  2. Kelli,
    This has become my husbands favorite dish at home now.I had to make it twice one week and it makes a whole lot. He loves it even more than his mothers recipe. He insist we always have the
    ingredients on hand to whipp it up. Its truly the best mac and cheese ever.I’ve shared your recipe with friends and always tell this is from Kelli on 106.9
    Keep those recipes coming!!!

  3. A delicious skillet macaroni and cheese with ground beef and tomato paste. A great one pot meal the whole family will love.
    INGREDIENTS:

    * 1 pound ground beef
    * 1 teaspoon salt
    * 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
    * 1 green bell pepper, chopped
    * 1 medium onion, chopped
    * 1 package macaroni and cheese dinner, prepared with milk and margarine as package directs
    * 1 can (14.5 to 16 ounces) tomatoes, diced, with liquid
    * 1 can (12 ounces) whole kernel corn, drained
    * 1 can (6 ounces) tomato paste

    PREPARATION:
    Brown ground beef with salt and pepper in a large skillet. Add onion and green pepper; continue cooking until onion is tender. Add corn and tomatoes and tomato paste; heat through. Stir in prepared macaroni and cheese dinner; simmer for 8 to 10 minutes.
    Serves 6.

  4. I wonder if it would be almost as good using wheat macaroni noodles to make it a little bit healthier? Nah, WTH…I’m going to make it just like the recipe calls for!! YUMMY!

  5. Molly…wheat noodles???…that is like drinking non alcoholic beer.

  6. I could cry!! – I made this a few times since you first published it with BOTS and I LOVE IT!! – but now I’m on Weight Watchers and when I figured out the points for it because I wanted to make it last week, let’s just say with 1 serving I would have about 1/2 of my points gone for the day!! Maybe I can make it and eat just 2 Tbsp at a time!?!

  7. Craig, have you ever tried wheat noodles? They’re very tasty and have LOTS of fiber! We all know how good fiber is for the body.

  8. My mama makes it almost exactly like this! Except with just cheddar cheese and no egg. Us southern girls sure know how to eat!

  9. Molly…i LOVE fiber…i am the most regular guy you will EVER meet…why???…i LOVER fibrous food(s)…that being said…i will try the wheat noodles and get back to you.

  10. OMG! I can feel my arteries clogging just reading this recipe. Maybe the walking in the store to buy the ingredients for this will counteract the effects of all the fat. It will have to be a big store!
    Sounds good though.
    Seriously Kelly, how do you stay so skinny? So not fair!

  11. I can feel my thighs & butt getting bigger already! I am SOOO making this for Easter.

  12. Kellie, can you please get us a recipe for meatloaf from you mama? I don’t like the recipe I have for it. Thanks a bunch.

  13. That sounds like a heart attack in a casserole dish. I can’t wait to try it!!!

  14. That sounds so good, I think I will try that in the next week or so, thanks for the recipe Kellie. Any other ones that you would like to share would be GREAT!!!

  15. mmmmmmmm… thanks for sharing….. craig your’s sounds good too…will try both of them…I’ve always made Patti LaBelle’s “Over the Rainbow Macaroni and cheese” recipe…it’s a good one too…

  16. Yea! Thanks!

  17. Kellie, Does your mama have a good recipe for potroast?

  18. I made this for my family at Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit!!! My sister actually requests that I make it for her again!!!

  19. Kellie:

    They have boiled peanuts (in a can, no less) at Wal-Mart. They are on the same aisle as the nuts, but they are normally at the bottom of the display. The packaging is yellow, but I’m not sure of the brand.

  20. This sounds really good! I usually make the Alton Brown version from Food Network, but this one seems easier.

  21. The board operator for your show, not the local one that pods you up but the syndicate one… Seems extremely distracted. Sorry about the fake name and e-mail, and I didn’t want to be a rat but he’s making my job more difficult than it should be. Please help me! Thanks a lot. The show sounds good other than that.

  22. Good Lord this sounds amazing. I’m also making it for Easter Dinner. My fiance thanks you!

  23. Kellie,

    I can see how much you love your daughter and how proud you are of her. Please check out my little boy Devean, who’s 3 yrs. old, dancing to the Car Wash song – it’ll put a smile on your face!

    Here’s the link (Dancin’ Devean):
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=dancin%27+devean&search_type

  24. This sounds sooo yummy! I will have to make it o my splurge day. Also, wanted to comment on the Halleluiah song you mentioned yesterday. Our love, Jon Bon Jovi, also covered that song. It is soo good.

  25. Where was Barney? I would like to call and see if he will be back anytime soon my 1 year old LOVES LOVES LOVES barney!

  26. I made this back when you guys had the battle of the sexes……WOW…it was so good! So rich and and I wasn’t used to all the heavy cream and cheese. It was totally worth the belly ache!

  27. hey ms. kelly this has nothing to do about your recipe…i’d never seen either one of you but i do have to say… you are not FAT!!! you are PHAT!!!lol but really i’d picture u totally different as the way you describe yourself on the air.. CRAZY GIRL!! i think no matter the size of a woman she will never be content… take care ms. kelly!!! love all of you!!

  28. OH MY!!

  29. Woo hoo! Made this for Easter and impressed my sisters-in-law. They both want the recipe. I told them where they could find it, and they thought it was hysterical I “got it from” you!

  30. I gained 5 pounds on Easter beacuse of this recipe! And it was so worth it! My father-in-law said it was one of the best mac and cheese he has ever had, and I agree! Thanks so much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

